Posting your rating...
Brinley Gold Shipwreck Spiced rum

Rate Brinley Gold Shipwreck Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


74 Brinley Gold Shipwreck Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

A good bit if harshness, and not a lit if flavor, but good for mixing.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Tim from United States with 11 ratings

I was really surprised by this rum. I occasionally buy something ive never tried before, but shipwreck has made its way into my regular rotation. Great caramel flavor, but not overpowering. I definitely recommend you try it.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

If more people tried this rum Captain Morgan would be out of business.

Genuine spices and flavors - as is the case with the entire Brinley's line, all of which I highly recommend. Rich, thick mouthfeel. Very drinkable on its own but excellent in mixed drinks too.

Posted 9 months ago by synchtw from United States with 13 ratings

A nice, smooth taste without any overpowering touches. Something I could see becoming a nice standby.

Posted over 1 year ago by iChomps from United States with 2 ratings

If i spend my money on something i want to enjoy it. This is worth my my hard earned cash.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jesse Mora from United States with 10 ratings

A true spiced rum. Tastes of hints of coconut, vanilla, and nutmeg. I’m glad I found this one, I highly recommend over most rums in this price range

Posted over 2 years ago by Rodney from Albania with 27 ratings

Not bad for a spiced rum. Was told it was one of the best spiced rums

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

My favorite rums are aged rums, but this is one of the best spiced rums I've tried. I even prefer this to the Kraken Black Spiced Rum, which is another one of my favorite spiced rums.

Has a nice sweet flavor, typical of Brinley Gold rums, which also smells and tastes of caramel, vanilla, molasses, and spice! Perhaps a bit weak at 36%abv, but tasty for a spiced rum nonetheless.

Posted about 2 months ago by je_farley from United States with 101 ratings

Unlike a couple of reviewers I thought the nose was not very heavy in alcohol or spice. Not a sipper but a great build rum with cola or ginger ale. Did not try citrus but believe it would not carry.

This is a great rum in place of more traditional spiced rums and would be a nice surprise for guests. Smother with no aftertastes could major a good blender too.

Posted 3 months ago by Chris Moulton from Canada with 11 ratings

What a great surprise. Bought it on a whim and never looked back. A great spiced rum. Sweetness and full of spice. Really enjoyed this rum.

Posted 4 months ago by Skyvie from United States with 30 ratings

Wonderfully smooth. Rich and sophisticated rum with vanilla-carmel flavor. Reminds me a lot of Captain Morgan Private Reserve. Great rum to drink by itself to fully appreciate its flavor. Highly recommended!

Posted 5 months ago by jackw625 from United States with 22 ratings

This is a very solid and sipable rum for the price

Posted 8 months ago by fraktahl from Estonia with 3 ratings

Cheap and not well known yet so good! A little bit too sweet maybe but I can live with that)

It's hard to get in Europe though. I hope it gets more popular here.

Posted 9 months ago by Fwittmeyer from United States with 11 ratings

Read about this rum in a top spiced rums piece . Graded out to be second best so I had to try it. Ended up being one of my favorite mixers for sure. Smooth and strong vanilla hints which I like. For sure a great choice.

Posted 12 months ago by ReclaimedCedar from United States with 10 ratings

I had no expectations and I am so pleasantly surprised. I don’t normally love spiced rum but this is a nice caramel vanilla that doesn’t overdo it. It’s very smooth. Would definitely recommend

Posted about 1 year ago by bob357 from United States with 1 rating

Just a basic spiced; better than Capt. Morgan's, but not as good as homemade.

Posted about 1 year ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

This is a good choice when a spiced rum is called for in a cocktail or the next time someone asks you to pick up Captain Morgan grab this instead.

Posted over 1 year ago by Isle1980 from Canada with 31 ratings

A smooth spiced rum.not overwhelming for taste and had a nice aroma.

Posted over 1 year ago by Edwg1967 from Canada with 12 ratings

First tried a couple years ago and still my go to for spiced rum. Not aggressive and lots of flavour woothout being overwhelming

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

I went to a well stocked rum bar today to try 5 different rums with a half ounce pour each. This one was quite a surprise and came in second. The aroma and gentle spices on the palate are truly captivating. There was no after burn, but I don't know how long ago the bottle had been opened on the bar. I was able to sip this one neat and finished my pour before the fifth rum was offered to me. If I finally find a bottle of this one, I will gladly buy it. Having tried and liked their Coconut rum also gained my trust in this company from St. Kitts.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jim from Canada with 5 ratings

I don't usually drink spiced rum. This was actually given as a gift but I really enjoy this rum. My fear was it would be too sweet and flavoured like a captain's but this is not the case.
A very easy drinker, would be a good first sipping rum. Great on the rocks

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Brinley Gold Shipwreck Spiced Rum bottle and label design looks very cheap and low end. Strong alcohol, vanilla and caramel coming through to the nose and palate. Quite a harsh burn at the end, so better to mix it up with your favorite soda.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Junior from United States with 5 ratings

Very strong vanilla taste. Great in pina colada or a Coke. Good for sipping alone, too - if you like vanilla.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bryce johnston from United States with 10 ratings

Great flavor to it for sipping on the rocks or mixing with coke!

Posted about 2 years ago by Cejer from United States with 9 ratings

I was scouring the shelves in the local Total Wines and More store, when the store manager engaged me in a discussion of rums. Spiced rum is just low quality rum with artificial flavorings added to mimic high quality aged rums he said. Makes sense, but I tried Brinley's Shipwreck Spiced Gold anyways, I was looking for a better quality mixer. This is it, it is delicious. It is very similar in spices to Captain Morgan; with vanilla, nutmeg, and black pepper finish. But less burn, tastes much higher in quality, and mixed with Coke or fruit juice was outstanding. This is not a sipping rum, step up to Plantation XO 20 to sip perfection; but this spiced rum is the perfect mixer.