Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10
456 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
13
16
50
105
165
84
14
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

456 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

Sickly sweet and no depth. It burns no via alcohol but by acidity. Ok for mixing I guess but there are far better rums at this price point (27 Canadian).

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

This rum is perfect for the Dark N Stormy cocktail with it´s dark, thick flavor. Also good in tiki drinks, obviously.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Ben Mitchell from Australia with 18 ratings

Amazing in Dark and Stormys particularly in their branded special glasses. Try it with Gummi Bears at the bottom for pure novelty!

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

A great dark rum for cocktails. Brings everything up a notch just by using instead of "regular" dark rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

If you like dark & stormys with Myers you'll like Black Seal. Very similar.....not anything I'd drink neat or without a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Giuseppe from Italy with 33 ratings

english style, a final persistent, smooth....

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by forrest loftis from United States with 13 ratings

Expected more from Bermuda's oldest rum. Bit to harsh and dry for my sipping taste. I would only use it in mixed drinks. A 6 for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

Black Seal is a great all around rum for mixing and reasonably priced. Great in a Dark 'N Stormy. I like it better than Myers dark rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

Nice balance of sweet, funk, and molasses. Although this is not supposed to be a spiced rum, it could pass for a very good one. My favorite mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by OmegaP from France with 12 ratings

On the smell we can find some vanilla and fruit (close to plum smell) and the taste is similare.

Not a great rum but a nice one and better for mixed drinks.

ps: the 1st bottle I buy (and drink) had a mono smell and taste of liquorice. I don't know if the flavor change alot from each bottle or not.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by james peters from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

This is the prefect rum for someone to move on to from the standard rums out there (think of Lamb's etc etc). It works well straight up, on the rocks on mixed and doesn't break the bank