Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year rum

By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Indonesia | Aged

4.6/10
80 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
6
14
12
16
14
9
4
1
0

Rate By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

80 By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 89 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Tried this at a rum festival. Not really my favourite. Sharp taste of alcohol, the barrel-ageing removes alot of the good tastes of the 1-year old.

YMHC 🇳🇱 | 162 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

20ml uit een advent kalender. Bij het maken van Arak wordt rode rijst gebruikt bij het fermenteren. Levert in ieder geval een pittige rum op, kruidig, pepermunt, alcohol proef je wel (48%)
Wel lekker eigenlijk.

Rasmus 🇩🇰 | 153 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Arrack is special kind of rum from Southeast Asia, where rice and other assorted rice are added to the fermentation process. It gives the drink a special taste, that is sure to device rum lovers.

Nose: Aromas of soil and greens with a small hint of suger cane
Taste: Very dry and clean taste of bark and pepper. A long medicinal aftertaste
Overall: I am not that well-traveled, when it comes to arrack, but if this is the benchmark for the style, then it might be something that I personally would stay away from.

Jesper Mazanti 🇩🇰 | 162 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

:-)
Colour is light.
Smell not ok.
Taste is not ok.
Aftertaste is bad.
;-)

Stig Wolff (PREMIUM) 🇩🇰 | 182 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

En rom som virker alt for skarp i mundhulen, der er intet blød og fint over den.
Ikke en rom jeg vil købe igen.

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 547 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Helles Honiggelb im Glas.
In der Nase, ganz speziell anders, erdig nach Wurzeln und nassem Laub durchmischt mit etwas Frucht und Klebstoff.
Im Gaumen sehr elegant und würzig, weisser Pfeffer auf Lebkuchen, Orangen mit Nelken gespickt, schönes angenehmes Mundgefühl.
Im Abgang dezent süss mit Beeren und etwas Salz.
In einer Blindverkostung nicht als Rum zu erkennen aber eine schöne Abwechslung in der Rumlandschaft.
Für Geniesser und Entdecker.

Bright honey yellow in the glass.
In the nose, especially different, earthy mixed with roots and wet leaves with some fruit and glue.
Very elegant and spicy on the palate, white pepper on gingerbread, oranges peppered with cloves, nice and pleasant mouthfeel.
In the finish discreetly sweet with berries and a little salt.
In a blind tasting not to recognize as rum but a nice change in the rum landscape.
For connoisseurs and explorers.

Taster 🇨🇭 | 141 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Avast! Stinks like the rotten planks of an old buccaneer! Very smoky and woody, maybe also a bit spicy. Nah, this ain't cultivated...
Edit: tryed this for the 2. time now and it‘s even whorse than last time! (Cal 2019 day 7)

Brian 🇩🇰 | 47 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Too alcoholic, not to my tasting, this will not be one I'll try again.

Theodora 🇸🇮 | 113 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

It is hardly rum. From nose to palate it seems like a medicine, herbal,very high alcohol %, but no sugar.

Daniel 🇸🇪 | 16 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

On the Nose fruity esters - apple overripe pear overripe banana cinnamon nutmeg vanilla new leather old oak clove and anis

Palate dry spicy oak partilly balanced by the merest hint of sweetness spicy fruity esters explode on the palate somewhat smooth by linseed oil

Nielf 🇩🇰 | 211 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

En væsentlig anderledes rom end hvad jeg er vant til at drikke. Den dufter frugtet og smager ret sprittet.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: By The Dutch
Country: Indonesia
Name: Batavia Arrack 8-Year
Years Aged: 8
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No
Loading...