Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged | 43% ABV

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10
678 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
10
11
38
112
235
211
46
9

Rate Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

678 Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Cultov 🇨🇿 | 49 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

intense alcoholic odor. warm taste full of wood with hints of orange peel and vanilla

JJ Geewax 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted almost 11 years ago

Not a bad one, obviously the older ones are a bit tastier.

Sakulnikov 🇨🇿 | 17 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

I like its dark colour however I can't say the same about its aroma. I just don't smell anything in it. Well the taste is significantly better than the aroma - caramel and some nuts. The taste is full with and has a decent finish. For me it is an average rum (well I expected a more complex taste and aroma from a 12yo - without knowing it I'd guess this rum is 7-9yo). It could be good sipping if you don't have much experience with rums and also a good introduction to 12yo rums but nothing more.

Robert 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

Though I find Appleton runs dry, I enjoy them. I agree with an earlier review that a 12 year old rum should have more character but that withstanding this is still a very drinkable rum. Its fairly smooth and displays mild oakiness and vanilla hints. Has a decent finish. Good Value.

SaltwaterTom 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

Relatively smooth, rich, a good drink.

Mike McPhee 🇨🇦 | 13 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

Appleton Rum is OK at the best of times. The 12 year old does hold a smoother taste than the regular bottles. Colour is attractive and can be enjoyed on the rocks but there are much better options such as El Dorado 12.

rafeener 🇨🇦 | 25 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

You talk to lot's of people about Rum and they bring up Appleton...why?
Won't turn it down if it was given to me...but not my first choice.

thorfin 🇫🇷 | 18 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

j'aime ce rhum, une tres bonne note boisé, a conseiller

Skulman 🇺🇸 | 117 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Nice smooth rum

Simon Richard 🇨🇦 | 15 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Très bon, un peu plus robuste que les autres 12 ans que j'ai goûté.
Very good, a bit more robust that the other 12yo I've tasted.

Barlee 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Love Appleton Estate products. Excellent price for such an easy drinking rum. Every personal bar should stock this one.
Great crowd pleasing rum.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Appleton Estate
Country: Jamaica
Name: Extra 12-Year
ABV: 43%
Years Aged: 12
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

Loading...