Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged | 43.0% ABV

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10
653 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
10
10
37
110
223
204
45
8

Rate Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

653 Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Durbs 🇬🇧 | 17 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Didn't like it at first, when I was more into sweeter rums, but I'm now a convert!
Fantastic deep flavour, smooth, warming and with the distinctive Appleton smell.

Wonderful stuff, and for the price a must have on any shelf

shammerle 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

While I recognize this is a solid run, I don’t care for the flavor profile. It’s a little chemically or medicinal finish to me. It may be the Jamaican style I don’t care for. It reminds me a little of the way a peaty scotch finished. I prefer bourbon and American / Canadian whiskey to peaty scotch, so that probably explains it. It’s not the age either I don’t think since I prefer the El Dorado 12 to the 15 or 21.

ben_fairweather 🇬🇧 | 19 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

This definitely has plenty of Jamaican "funk". When that's what I'm in the mood for, this is my go-to sipping rum. Smooth, rich and complex with plenty of character. Fruit and spice is complemented by a strong woody flavour with leathery overtones. It also makes a VERY tasty rum & coke, but that feels like a waste.
I've given it 8 due to the modest pricing (in context of the quality). If it cost 30% more, I'd probably give it a 7.

jwevenson (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

The 12 year is equal to the 15 year and almost as tasty as the 21 year. Therefore, you get the most bang for your buck sticking with the 12 year. Great taste and aroma!

Kalli 🇵🇹 | 4 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This is a great Rum with great flavour. Enjoy it every time

Eric O 🇨🇦 | 20 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Great flavor and finish. Crack the bottle and you are back on the beach.

Tomeczek 🇵🇱 | 12 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Great rum, not too sweetened, lot of flavours and aroma. I think this is how rum is supposed to taste like ;)

BartJ76 🇳🇱 | 3 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Deze rum doet bijna aan Whiskey denken. Scherp maar redelijk “smooth” tegelijkertijd.

Evadovec 🇨🇿 | 80 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I think good value for this price. Nice surprise, good rum.

Teufelhunden02 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Perfect for sipping. This is one of my favorites when I’m tired of the cola thing and just want a clean rum taste. The smokey carmel flavor is perfect for relaxing on the beach.

Bonandy 🇵🇱 | 82 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Mild aroma, slightly sweet. Sharper in taste, palpable 43%




Brand Details

Name: Extra 12-Year
Company: Appleton Estate
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 43.0%
Aged: 12

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading