Posting your rating...
Sailor Jerry Spiced rum

Sailor Jerry Spiced

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Spiced

Sailor Jerry’s Spiced rum is crafted from a blend of Caribbean rums that are blended and infused with spices and other flavors including vanilla and cinnamon.

The rum is produced by Sailor Jerry Ltd., a company founded to honor the sailor-turned-tattoo artist, Norman “Sailor Jerry” Collins.

6.2/10 (716 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
13
21
46
103
197
222
67
30
14

Rate Sailor Jerry Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


716 Sailor Jerry Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mike Borg Cardona from Denmark with 9 ratings

Way too perfumed of vanilla and i still cannot find a cocktail in which it works

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by King J from Australia with 9 ratings

Living in rural Australia and not being a millionaire, one's liqour options are limited (inflated costs + limited range). I had been on the verge of giving up trying to make Mai Tais but a bottle-shop worker suggested using spiced rum and Sailor Jerry's was on special (A$43/700ml, normally $54). Compared to what I've used before (a combo of Bacardi 'Carta Blanca Superior White' - $46 or Havana Club Añejo 3 Años ~$50, and Buckeye Classic Golden Carribean $36) this was lovely and smooth. Even comparison-sniffing the bottles, the Havana Club & Buckeye have a noticeable chemical sharpness of which the SJ is free, and it made an addictive Mai Tai (IBA recipe except for using 100% SJ Spiced). However, unfortunately, and to quote another reviewer on here, Sailor Jerry has a mean streak (gives me headaches; as, tragically, does tequila nowadays). So in summary, it's delicious but I can't have it anymore.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Isle1980 from Canada with 31 ratings

A good spiced rum. Reasonable price. Prefer with mix .

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumcigarcollector from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Good spiced up rum, better looking are on the bottle i like it

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Haderfck from Denmark with 13 ratings

Denne rom er utrolig smagfuld med en masse krydderier. Den er hverken i den dyre ende eller billige ende (omkring 300kr), og den virker både alene men også til en drink eller The. Et MUST have efter mit vedkommende

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by 78monk from Australia with 12 ratings

I do enjoy this rum. Great mixed with a dry and lime (some say coke). However I think over the years my pallet has changed. I can't drink it neat anymore as I feel it's a little over spiced.
Always loved at parties though and tends to be enjoyed by non rum drinkers. A good entertainer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by FranzPattison from Canada with 2 ratings

I can taste the flavours others have identified: caramel, cinnamon, nutmeg, etc, but I was hoping it would be sweeter. As it is, the flavour is harsh and unpalatable as a sipping rum; it leaves me grimacing and forcing myself to swallow. This is a shame because the underlying flavours are very nice, they're just hidden behind a flavour too raw to be enjoyable on its own. It's fine mixed with something but it's just not what I wanted out of it. If it wasn't so expensive I wouldn't feel so swindled.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Nice aroma of caramel and vanilla with a rich, spicy flavor. Not for sipping this is best with Coke or the soda of choice. The proof makes it a great value when combined with the taste and one of my bar go to liquors...

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 69 ratings

Original Recipe Sailor Jerry is a completely different beast when compared to its later counterpart and I always ensure I buy it when I see the limited edition bottles doing the rounds. Deep golden rum with a decent edge of caramel with a huge hit of vanilla, followed by hints of sweet spice. Goes extremely well in any mixed drink.

If you haven't tried the original recipe SJ and you get a chance, don't miss it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by PatPep from United States with 8 ratings

If you like to have a mixed drink this was a great mixer

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by eddieo from United States with 92 ratings

So I won't turn it down when the captain offers me a swig. Again. And again.

But I'm not buyin it!

Sugary, flavored rum, maybe better suited to cooking or aw schucks just raising hell on the waterways.