Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10
338 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
11
39
93
137
45
8

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

338 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Brandon from United States with 8 ratings

Not as sweet as some others, but very smooth. I was fortunate enough to have had this in a nice tequila bar. I didn't get a chance to fully delve into the complexities, but it seemed like a good, straight Rum and what I'd describe simply as refined.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

God bid i starten, efterfulgt af en masse smagsoplevelser.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

For me, this is what I like in a rum. However, I can understand why people would find this too sweet and too oaky. The sweetness is intense on the front palate before the oak kicks in to mellow it down. On the finish, the sweetness caries on well after the oak. But.....just sometimes, I can find it to be all a bit too confected. But whether it is a good drinking day or not, it is supremely smooth, full bodied and easy to drink

EDIT - the Mezan Panama is made by the same people as this, and to me is better. While it doesn't have the smokey flavours, the sweetness isn't quite so in your face.

2nd Edit - I have just been given a litre bottle at 37.5% and it is very different to the 70cl 40% bottle that I have just finished. Unsurprisingly it is smoother than the 40%, and the oak notes are much more pronounced. I had become rather undecided about the 40% as it had a dirty edge to it, but the 37.5% is right up there. Very good.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

I'm not one to enjoy too much wood, and this tips to that side for me. I can appreciate the expertise though and will recommend it. For my tastes, I'll stick with the 7 year.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Panama, Amérique du Sud... On pourrait donc s'attendre à un rhum rond et moelleux comme les Diplomatico, Centenario, Millonario & autres productions de type espagnoles. D'autant que la couleur est d'un ambré profond... Et bien non ! Nous sommes ici sur un produit plus sec, au nez puissant et épicé, avec une pointe d'alcool qui n'est pas désagréable. La bouche amène de la cannelle et des épices, un surprenant coté sec. La longueur est moyenne, mais agréable avec des notes végétales et fumées discrètes.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Chris from United States with 27 ratings

One of my favorites

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

The Abuelo 12 anos is a very smooth rum. Women will like it and I do as well because of its smoothness but also his very sweet side with vanilla notes!

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

I liked this rum, but I have only seen it when I traveled.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by MMihran from Canada with 27 ratings

A pretty good sipping rum, just love the smell