Posting your rating...
Veritas White rum

Veritas White

Barbados | Light

8.0/10
27 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
16
6
1

Rate Veritas White

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

27 Veritas White ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by sebastospud from United States with 16 ratings

Sipping, just great with a lot of pineapple and bananas on the nose, along with burnt caramel. Then on the palate, bananas, funk, anise, and some cedar or pencil shavings. A bit hot at first, but, really lovely to hang out with for a while.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 146 ratings

I got the opportunity to attend a rum tasting with Daniele Biondi from Velier were we tasted 9 different rums. This was the first rum of the night, which we tasted both on its own, but also in a daiquiri. If you need the perfect rum for the latter, then look no further. This rum is a blend of rums from Hampden in Jamaica and Foursquare in Barbados.

Nose: Natural smell of sugarcanes, lime and a grassy backbone
Taste: A very vibrant taste of molasses, banana, lime, grass and a small hint of spice
Overall: I was very surprised by the richness of this white-ish rum. It is already great as a sipper, but it truly comes to shine in a daiquiri. If you like your basic rum cocktails to actually taste like rum (and why wouldn´t you), then this is the rum for you.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rudi from Poland with 10 ratings

A combination of high-ester Jamaican rum with milder foursquare column-distilled rums, this rum provides a very nice nose with fruity touches that remind you of a nice wine. You need to feel the aroma for a while before the Jamaican funk comes to the front. Then come some wood at the end.
On the palate the story is very different: it burns like you would expect from an un-dossed, non-aged rum and it leaves a dry, slightly bitter aftertaste.
It was conceived as a mixer, with a price/image/quality to match, so I would say that seeing it under this concept (instead of comparing it to other more premium rums) the product is outstanding. 9/10

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

When Vellier, Hampden & Foursquare collaborate to bring you a new blend of white rum you can bet ya it will be setting a new benchmark.

Veritas, or in the US named Probitas, is a blend of white rums of the Foursquare Distillery, Barbados, and Hampden, Jamaica. It’s a blend of three rums in all. Containing un-aged pot from Hampden. Un-aged from Foursquare’s twin column Coffey still and Foursquare’s aged pot still (2 years). There is no info on how much of each is in the blend however Mr. Seale in his usual cryptic way did disclose that there is “a lot of the un-aged and a little of the aged” in the blend.

Bottled at 47% it has a very light straw appearance. Aromas of light vegetal, citrus, sweet cane, pastry, exotic fruits. I love the aroma and can’t help myself to have a sniff every time I pass this bottle. You can easily drink this neat but it really is made for cocktails.

This is not a Jamaican funk high ester bomb. The notes are more subtle and in harmony with each other. Suggest you use this in classic spirit forward drinks. This makes an amazing Daiquiri.

My new favourite cocktail ingredient

Small img 0322

Posted 7 days ago by Just 2thetop from Germany with 18 ratings

Well quality rules .. this is a great sipper for an almost white
Masterfully blended young Hampden and (5 y/o) Foursquare.
At 47% it delivers intensity - great summer sipper straight up.
It would be a shame to mix this I think
Alot better than the Duppy imho

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by henrik pedersen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Den perfekte partner til en Daiquiri. kan ikke anbefale den som sipper.

Small img 5797

Posted 28 days ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 192 ratings

barva velmi světlá jak velmi suché víno.
vune ovocné tony exotického ovoce a luční kvítí
chut jemně štiplavá kde pokračuje jemná chuť bánánů,
zaver příjemný závěr který dokresluje předešlé chutě
hodnoceni 8,5
koupit ano

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Rsvec from Austria with 80 ratings

White is out of my scope - though this one is in. Very interessting and nice

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 71 ratings

Nose: Glue, Banana, Apples, Pear, faint Pineapple, Apple cider Vinegar, Candy Corn
Palate: very sweet (despite 0 added sugar), Banana, fermented apples, yellow cherries, caramel corn, lemon drop candies
Finish: very faint, a little heat, Apples, Butterscotch, candy-like sweetness at the back of the mouth

This rum is called Veritas in most parts of the world, and because of IP issues, Probitas in the US. Probitas and Veritas are the same rum, by the same collaboration only labeled differently because of naming issues in the U.S.

The name in most of the world, Veritas, means "truth" and was meant to convey that this rum is completely natural with nothing added. This is a collaboration between the Foursquare and double retort pot still Hampden distilleries in Barbados and Jamaica, respectively. It is a mix of Barbadian/Bajan rums and Hampden Pot Still rums bottled at 47% ABV.

This was originally specifically designed to serve as the perfect cocktail rum, and I can see that. However, it is also pretty nice just to sip on though it has some very interesting attributes. For one, this rum has an extraordinarily faint aftertaste despite having an explosive and extremely expressive palate. Unlike many rums, especially Jamaican rums which have an incredible nose and then a different or subdued palate followed by a strong finish/aftertaste, this rum lives in opposite land. It has a very nice but not overly intense nose, followed by one of the most explosive and expressive palates I have experienced on a rum, followed by an almost entirely non-existent finish. You could metaphorically describe it almost as if someone casually said "fire in the hole" and then conspicuously rolled a flashbang grenade of flavor into your mouth... and then you woke up and it was just a dream.

It is a mix of Barbadian and Jamaican rums so the nose contains aromas one might expect from a Jamaican rum, but they are subdued and noticeably altered. The nose on this is certainly pleasant enough, though not overly aromatically intense. The Barbadian influence definitely muffles the Hampden intensity. On the nose I get Glue, Banana, Apples, Pear, faint Pineapple, faint Apple Cider Vinegar, and just a whiff of candy corn. Its a nice combination, and it is definitely aromatic, but it doesn't bop you on the nose like most Jamaican pot still rums tend to do. You are led to believe that this is going to be a toned down rum with the notes muffled a bit so as not to overwhelm the cocktail it is being used in.

Well if you thought that you would be wrong... because the palate is one of the most expressive and explosive flavor bombs I have experienced - and that is saying something given that this is the 66th rum I have reviewed. I am frankly not sure quite how to do this justice other than to say that the flavors absolutely explode on your tongue like a firework show on the 4th of July (or if you aren't American pick a major holiday with a big fireworks display). Right out the gate is banana like you just bit off a hunk of a perfectly ripe banana. This is followed by sweet fermented apples accompanied by yellow cherries. As you begin to swallow you taste candy corn and lime flavored hard candy. The whole presentation is very sweet almost like if these notes were presented by Jolly Rancher. This of course is quite impressive given that there is absolutely 0 (zilch, nada) added sugars to this rum. In fact this rums tastes sweeter on the palate than Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva to me which is just insane. And the above notes are intense too, like popping 6 Jolly Ranchers in your mouth at the same time. So much for a toned down "mixing rum", haha. Yes it is a mixer, but this can equally serve as an excellent sipper. Whats further impressive is that this goes down wonderfully smooth despite clocking in at 47% ABV. All in all this rum has an amazing palate.

Unfortunately, as fast and impressive as the flavors explode on the palate, they disappear with equal rapidity on the finish. Which is to say that, oddly, this rum has almost no finish. On the finish I get a few muffled, faint notes of apples and butterscotch but they are very faint. Apparently this rum is like Las Vegas: what happens on the palate stays on the palate. Once it leaves your tongue its gone. Which is kind of a disappointing but only in comparison to how great the palate on this rum is. A few minutes after putting the glass down your mouth returns to the same state as it was before you drank the rum.

I could see how this would be an absolutely amazing mixing rum: the aromas won't alter the cocktail but the flavors will shine bright without the finish impacting the flavors of the total mixture. Fascinating. That said its a real easy sipper, especially if you can just keep sipping on it. In fact as a sipper it is kind of dangerous because the palate is so expressive you crave it but it disappears so fast it leaves you wanting more. At least that's what it does to me. This is a great mix of the Jamaican and Barbadian styles. I will make a few cocktails with it an check back in.

Nose: 7
Palate: 9
Aftertaste: 6
Smoothness: 9
Versatility: 10
Price: 8

Total: 8.1

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 150 ratings

Keď sa spojí Velier, Hampden a Foursquare, nemôže z toho vzniknúť nič zle. Úžasný biely rum za neskutočnú cenu okolo 20eur. Skvela ovocná vôňa, chuť po ananase, citrusoch, banane...nálož ovocia. Výborný samotný a milujem ho aj v kombinácii rum/tonic.