Posting your rating...
El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva rum

Rate El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


36 El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Well over 800 aged dark rums enjoyed and El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva was such a massive positive surprise and what a value! Bought it from the local Total Wine for $36 and it rivals the Diplomatico price-quality ratio. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva is very smooth, no burn at all and contains plenty of exciting flavors and with a price tag of less than $40, it is also an amazing value. However, the El Pasador de Oro XO is even better than the Gran Reserva and only $2 more expensive. Gran Reserva comes in a black box and black label, whereas the smoother XO comes with a white box and a white label.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 8
10/100 Color of this rum 8
15/100 Nose test 12
20/100 Palate test 15
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 13
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 15
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 86

Posted over 1 year ago by Camcam from France with 1 rating

Rum aged for a minimum of 10 years, including 6 months in Cognac. Well balanced, flavorful, with aromas of cinnamon and cocoa.

Posted about 1 year ago by Michael David from United States with 10 ratings

El Pasador has two wonderful products- the XO and the Grand Reserva.
The XO is smooth and well balanced, where as the Grand Reserva imparts more body and character. Both products are in my best buy category~

Posted about 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I picked this up at my local Total Wines & More for only $44.99, but to me it tastes more like an $80 rum!

Smells and tastes of a really nice spice (I can't place it), oak (with sherry aging?), caramel, and tobacco. Has a very nice hint of sweetness and is really nice. Just shy of a '9' to me.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Très bon rhum, pour le prix le El Pasador XO est meilleur.

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Ok for me .... .

Posted 3 months ago by Kean from Denmark with 6 ratings

This rum is very smooth an well balanced in flavors, where it briefly touches on pepper notes and before the vanilla and dried fruits like abricot.

Posted 3 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 60 ratings

Comment ne pas passer à côté de ce ron d'Amérique Centrale !
Il est très agréable et m'a procuré beaucoup de plaisir à le déguster nature.
Et que dire de la bouteille digne des plus grands !

Posted 5 months ago by Sebgasseau (PREMIUM) from Canada with 2 ratings

Very smooth. This is my second rum and I'm not disappointed.

Posted 8 months ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Guatemala/Francie
Po zrání v Guatemale se vybrané sudy převezou do Francie, kde se provádí konečné míchaní a následné dostařování v sudech po koňaku.
Aroma: Včelí plástve, propolis, kůže, hřebíček. Tohle je podle mě naprostá rumová klasika, takhle si představuju prototyp kvalitního rumu, voní vyzrále a zároveň typicky rumově. (88 b)
Chuť: Dřevo, kakao, lesní med, tmavá čokoláda, smažený banán, nasládlost ruku v ruce s mírnou nahořklostí, kterou nevyhledávám, ale tady mě celkový výsledek a mix chutí baví. (88 b)
Body: 88/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnáno na další naší akci s kamarádem, kdy jsme srovnávali 8 různých rumů, a tento skončil na 1. místě (Hunter 2, josé 1). Lepší už pro mě byl jen bratříček tohoto rumu v sudové síle 52%.

Posted 10 months ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

Les Bienheureux El Pasador De Oro - like it , very good , solid 7/8

Posted 10 months ago by Marco Rubin from Switzerland with 37 ratings

Unverfälscht im Rum Aroma. Ausgewogen nicht zu süss nicht zu stark. Perfekt

Posted 10 months ago by TroyB from Canada with 13 ratings

Pleasantly surprised with this bottle. Smooth, smells great, tasty!

Posted 11 months ago by Kair from Canada with 17 ratings

More spicy, yet woody. More of an alcool burn to it also. Still. Kirk and sweeney wins it so far !!

Posted 12 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

Silnější, ale výborný, už mu chystám místo v domácím baru

Posted 12 months ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

Color: between a morning after pee and a cold stewed tea
Smell: vanilla, brown sugar, slightly floral
Taste: a deep taste , smooth round and delicious

Posted about 1 year ago by Michael N from United States with 69 ratings

Found a bottle of this on vacation. $44 here in the U.S.. The initial rush and overpowering alcohol smell is intense at first. After it sits for a few minutes it settles down. The aroma isn’t as nice as higher dollar bottles and the taste is a little subtle and smooth. Overall not a bad choice for someone new to rum, especially for the price.

Posted over 1 year ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

I have rated only 3 rums to date. Excellent deep, smooth aged taste. Great for sipping and enjoyable on the rocks. Excellent value means that this is going to remain in my stock.

Posted over 1 year ago by locorican68 from United States with 24 ratings

The aroma of the El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva was sweet with hints of vanilla. The taste was good but the after taste was a little harder than I would have preferred. For the price, this is a great option, neat. I got mine at Total Wine in MD as a hunch. I was very surprised by this rum, as it was a very good sipping rum. The aroma was typical molasses and sugar, but the finish was smooth, which took me by surprise.

Posted over 1 year ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 173 ratings

Vůně: alkoholová vůně, rozinky a kandované ovoce
Chuť: jemná, ovocnější, a lehce štiplavá

Posted over 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

I'm not sure if I ever had u rum with such a full body. Both dark and sweet at the same time, the aftertaste is really longlasting!

Posted over 1 year ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

An exceptionally good rum, especially for the price point! It's more refined than it's lower tier brother. Less sweet, more robust. All of the good notes a fine rum should have.

Posted over 1 year ago by Edwwa from Lithuania with 23 ratings

For this price, I think you can't get any better. Nice, fruity smell. Smooth taste and no burning. One of my favorites

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe from United States with 37 ratings

No ETOH upon the nose. Sticky legs (indicate added sugar?). Not particularly sweet however as I thought it would be. Tiny bit of pepper on the back end moderates the sweet. Overall pretty pretty good.