Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year rum

Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year

Jamaica | Aged | 43.0% ABV

6.5/10
94 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
17
26
30
13
5

Rate Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

94 Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by James from Greece with 11 ratings

Dark Colour, very strong spicy taste, very strong aroma. A Rum that demands your attention !!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Carbon from Denmark with 25 ratings

The nose is really rather like that of a Spanish style - toffee, dried dark fruits (plum) and a hint of vanilla and coconut. The taste does show some Jamaican character though, with a hint of funk to go a long with the rather thin and otherwise sweet, mellow notes. Not bad, but a similar thing is better done by the Havana 7 years in my opinion. Unless you come from whisky and desire that pot still burn and funk, that is.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 59 ratings

Not enjoyable straight up, but not offensive. Better choices in the 7 & 8 year blends

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by mattmcconnellga from United States with 4 ratings

Above average rum for the average/ untrained palette (mine).

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 87 ratings

Initial hit is a bit WTF but then it mellows out and sweetens up into a long lingering smooth mouthful of tasty rum. 7.5 but at £26 a bottle on offer in Waitrose, I'm giving and 8 and going back for more!

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by jbuckhead from United States with 11 ratings

Medium amber in color. Bright caramel in the nose with some funkiness typical of Jamaican rums, perhaps a hint of leather. First taste is sweet, which then brings out a sweet aroma that wasn’t present before tasting. The aroma of leather also gets stronger after a while. A little thin with not much mouthfeel. Definitely some funkiness in the flavor (though not as much as the aroma would suggest), along with vanilla and caramel. I love this rum in a true Mai Tai, though I have to say it’s a little underwhelming on its own.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 495 ratings

This is good solid pot blend rum that combined with the funk gives it that Jamaican classiness ... You can taste lovely orange peel and smooth coffee ... Good solid 8 year rum

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

Flavorful oak. A little strong afterburn. Mixed not quite there.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 449 ratings

You can find the Appletone character here, but the taste is missing the complexity and smoothness of older brothers. Finish is short and harsh. 12y is better for only a bit higher price.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Lanier from Belgium with 37 ratings

like in title....not bad...but definetly nothing special.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 1 year ago by Neman3 from Canada with 112 ratings

This is my second bottle, first was Rare Blend 12, and I like it a lot. Maybe not that exotic or mature taste, but it is smooth, delicious and easy to drink.
In side by side comparison with Diplomatico Kettle Batch I prefer Appleton.