Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10 (579 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
36
96
201
174
41
7

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


579 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

I think more for tasting neat, than mixing, though mixes extraordinarily well. The regular Appleton is good, yet a working man's version of the 12 year, which is a compliment to both.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Robert Klein from Israel with 9 ratings

I could give this a 10, but I'd like to leave room for some future amazing dram, not to mention the fact that I haven't tried Appleton's 21 or other specialty offerings. But the 12 is very solid, especially for folks who come from the world of whiskey. Ralfy (if you don't know who that is, you should -- see his reviews on YouTube) put down Ron Zacapa XO because it's only bottled at 40%. At first I felt he was being too knee-jerky about percentages, but over time, I've come to agree that as complex as the Zacapa is, it really doesn't please over the long haul as much as its Appleton and Mount Gay rival XO's. For people who prefer the nuances brought out by the alcohol in a drink, rum's sweetness requires that 43% level to keep it sufficiently sophisticated, IMHO. Appleton 12 has the 43% mark, and it's got plenty of natural verve and flavor to please any serious imbiber. Appleton 12 is a hat-doffer for sure. Enjoy!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marco Forlani from Italy with 26 ratings

It’s a good molasses rhum, not extremely sweet and not harsh at all. A good and honest product great for fruit cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

I enjoy this rum quite a bit & keep it on hand regularly. That said, it has its place...and that place isn’t sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tibob from France with 25 ratings

Bon rhum, un peu fort comme s'est confrère des Caraibes et boisé.
Sympa a essayer.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Adam from Canada with 3 ratings

It was okay...it was on the bar. Tried it and and tasted okay.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from Germany with 7 ratings

Boaring nothing else! Hands off , a waste of money

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Libor from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

Zpočátku je cítit po vanilce, rozinkách a ananasu. Později nastoupí štiplavý pocit alkoholu. Jde o spíše jemný rum, který je méně sladký. V chuti je opět cítit vanilka, rozinky a ananas a stejně jako u vůně později nastupuje štiplavá chuť alkoholu. Stojí za to ochutnat.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jacek Bogucki from Poland with 9 ratings

while I typically like dark and spiced Rums - this one is one of my favorites of non-spiced. really intense taste - and it's great neat (that I don't drink often).
one of the proofs / examples that cap might be better than cork (although it would be more convenient to have bottle with cork while watching some Black Sails..)

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Michal Pulák from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Me osobne tenhle rum moc nechutna. Je hodne drsny a neuhlazeny. Ale chapu ze se v tom nekdo najde. Na to ze rummaster je zenska tak je to hodne chlapsky piti.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Hynek from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Prekvapive neni tak ostry jak jsem cekal. Nicmene dochut je kratka.