Posting your rating...
Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

Barbados | Aged

6.4/10
496 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
9
8
27
23
57
93
126
77
51
25

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

496 Bumbu Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by DavidFiggé from Denmark with 14 ratings

Rigtig flot mørk farve uden at være tilsat farvestoffer eller andre tilsætningsstoffer.
Duften er meget domineret af banan og vanilje og smager følger dette efterfulgt af karamel. Næsten lidt Werthers Ægte agtig.
Bananen er meget dominerende i smag også, men jeg finder det ikke negativt for rommen - det er blot en af karaktertrækkene og noget som gør den skiller sig fra mængden.

Flasken er ekstraordinær. Rigtig oldschool pirat-look! Giver næsten et point i sig selv

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

A complicated as this rum sounds as described on the Bumbu website it's hard to categorize it as either an aged rum or a spiced rum.

So I call it both.

According to their website: "Our rum is distilled using two continuous stills and aged up to 15 years in grade-A, once-used Kentucky bourbon barrels. The yeast used during fermentation is a distillery secret that dates back as far as 1840, when some of our original iron pot stills were cast."

They also use sugarcane originating from several countries: Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guyana, and Honduras.

The rum is distilled in Barbados which is my favorite country of origin for rum (Martinique being the others).

BTW, this rum is in one of the coolest rum bottles I've ever seen. Looks like something Hollywood would come up with for a pirate movie. I uploaded a photo I took.

The color in the snifter is a bright amber. It shows excellent legs as I swirl it around my snifter. A wonderful aroma comes from this rum...reminds me of baking vanilla cake from scratch. At 35% ABV (70 proof) it's a little less potent than typical rums.

The flavor is very complex due mainly to the spices used. Self-described as "all-natural native spices and no artificial colors or flavors". There is a noticeable sweetness but I do not know if it has been sugared or if some of the flavoring brings the sweetness naturally. Either way the sweetness is not overpowering. Instead it adds to the overall experience. My palate is not very educated on detecting subtle flavors however vanilla seems to be one of the predominate ones. It's even noticeable in the aroma. Again, not overpowering. There seems to be some pepperiness and a bit of oak tannin as well. The tannin bitterness is rather mild. I also seem to detect coconut and fruit flavors (mango???). Very complex. And smooth.

Definitely qualifies as a sipping rum especially in a beach chair at the beach. Or a lake. Or a river. Or a pond. Or a puddle of water. Doesn't matter. Even if you're nowhere near a beach this rum will take you there.

I like this rum. A lot.

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Claytongene from United States with 10 ratings

Tastes like banana bread liqueur. If you love bananas this will be your favorite. I like to sip on one occasionally as a change up.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Morten Graenge from Denmark with 44 ratings

Man skal virkelig være til sød rom for at kunne drikke denne her. Den er alt alt for sød til mig. Den minder mere om en likør end en rom. Jeg vil ikke købe denne rom igen.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Elrix from Czech Republic with 7 ratings

It is tasty to most of the visits. Great alcohol to spare and call "rum". Not too expensive, nor crazy cheap but better than to pour rums twice the taste to waste on someone who thinks best "rum" is Captain Morgan:)) sweet, maybe too much for some. Banana everywhere...Still not that bad

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Kanu from Denmark with 4 ratings

A bit sweet, but man, I would like to drink this rhum again.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Bloaker from Netherlands with 2 ratings

This rum was recommended to me by my favorite liquor store. The owner is an whiskey and rum fanatic. And his judgement was spot on. This rum is really soft. With a hint of banana in it. Bit sweet. And at this point my favorite rum. Great for drinking pure.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Limike from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

Za mě velké zklamání.Chuť nepříjemná,nahořklá,silně kořeněná. Vůně lepší než chuť.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by jleigh1916 from United States with 2 ratings

I am just starting to get into rum drinking, and I'm already sorry that I chose this one to try early on. First of all, if this is what people consider smooth or extremely sweet, I'm going to make a very poor rum drinker! It was not smooth to me at all, nothing like I expected, and I definitely get the artificial banana flavor people have mentioned. I do like the bottle a lot, and tried it on the recommendation of the staff since they didn't have what I was actually looking for. Very disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jamespinckney from United States with 3 ratings

I am no rum expert, but I do enjoy many different rums and find this one to be pleasant. It is a little expensive for what it is, but I like the aroma and the flavor for sipping.

Small 20201224 130652

Posted 4 months ago by Traypark76 from Canada with 15 ratings

This rum is not a true aged rum , way too sweet for me.