Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

8.1/10 (2058 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
8
12
21
46
93
305
746
669
156

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


2058 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

E328dbe0ea7a86e75d7fb4a8466d562a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by niko_aqm from France with 14 ratings

Parfait pour faire découvrir le rhum à quelqu'un ou pour s'y mettre en douceur, cette petite sucrerie est comparable à un caramel mou : "caramel" car au nez et en bouche c'est ce qui domine et "mou" car c'est très rond et ça manque cruellement de pêche !
A noter tout de même : c'est excellent avec un petit foie gras sur un toast, cela remplace aisément un vin blanc liquoreux.

4de7675faaf0335c92e211279322774f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by torgo from United States with 12 ratings

At first I was taken aback by the oaky aroma of this rum- blindfolded, I would've thought there was a glass of white wine in front of me.

My biggest qualm with this bottle is after coming back to it from trying many other types of rum, the Diplomático is tough to describe as a "true" rum. It has a texture and sweetness I'd expect more from a liqueur. To that end, I've found it most palatable by squeezing some lime juice and dropping in a cube or two of ice.

Definitely worth trying, but again I feel it's too much of a departure from what I'd consider to be a straight-up rum to give it a recommendation as a straight-up sipper.

232b5735b4153dfeac22ff1e6bcf6189.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by mroverdoz from France with 3 ratings

Corps plutôt épais, goût très sucré et long en bouche.

A37218d5376f181d862415d3777db0e9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Mikenedham from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

First sipping rum i had and got me hooked. I like the sweetness, i like the lack of burn going down, i like the aftertaste compared to many others at this price, and i like the fact non rum drinkers often have it as the accessible way of getting into neat rum drinking (including my dad!). hard to beat for the price.

F35adfda1c4513814fa6316f57e18ff3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by fens from Belgium with 10 ratings

simply but for begin is perfect
better than Don pa.. 😁 😀

6a67b201b930a4000b95e460e20b9f03.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by vaggla from Greece with 1 rating

Diplomatic is one of the best aged rum, sweet and flavor

F69b3cbc991160057df510a12045a153.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefano from Italy with 1 rating

........…...........................................

304a17f442d7153b7e1d048ca89c3158.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Bryan from United States with 4 ratings

Great tasting rum. Easy to drink on the rocks. Well at least according to this amateur.

9c6b684fa9350390c6841319ec9c74d2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Iainrummy from Canada with 6 ratings

Try this, straight. One of the smoothest rums so far. 63.99 12/18

637280c308c579291eca03fa672b95be.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Jara from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

Diplomatico was my first really great rum. When I'm at the party, I order it again and again. I recommend all loved ones.

D04d022698db53c0fbd6e82c593ca574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 92 ratings

This one, oh yeah, you can sip it on the rocks after a meal, it makes for a great cordial substitute, and also it's just good anytime you're in the mood for sweet and mellow rum with complex flavor characteristics. The caramel is less pronounced than in the Reserva. The dried fruits come out more, and the potency is palpable. For a Venezuelan rum, this one's right on the mark.

CAVEAT EMPTOR: It's full of sugar and additives.