Posting your rating...

6.6/10 (54 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
3
14
10
12
4
3

Rate Diplomatico Blanco

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


54 Diplomatico Blanco ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 147 ratings

My nose catches only alcohol and floral fragrance. In the mouth there is a burning sensation, a pleasant barrel, again a burning sensation and bitterness. A lump in the throat, woody-herbal taste, alcohol, sweetness. Pleasant warmth through the esophagus. Amazing thing: the mind first becomes indistinct, then clears up!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Boris from Slovenia with 39 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the white rums.
They are well suitable for coctails and many times a bad standalone drink. But this is one of the best I've tried. Light vanilla nose and body... light sweetness and very smooth body for a white rum. A bit aggressive abv at start but well balanced at the end... I would say: Top white rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

Interesting white rum. It has the shoe nail polish taste of a vodka but quickly comes back into a sweetness with some light grassiness. Would definitely recommend as a white rum to mix in tropical drinks if you want to not destroy your mouth/stomach.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gungun from Sweden with 33 ratings

Dricker helst min rom ren och gillar därför egentligen inte vit rom. Men den här funkar konstigt nog att dricka bar. Men förmodligen är den bättre som bra drinkrom så klart:-)!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marcelo from United States with 10 ratings

I am a huge fan of Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva as a sipping rum. Diplomatic Blanco is not for sipping and/or people who generally enjoy the smoky, complex flavors of sipping rum. This rum goes through a distillation process 4 times, really purifying the flavor of the rum. I find it comparable to Kettle One, and in fact, enjoy with a whisky ball and a lemon twist. It also mixes well with dark and stormy and mojito cocktails.

Color: White
Nose: Mild aroma of buttery caramel, baked banana and vanilla. I've heard others say oak, mint and lime, but I did not get those notes.
Taste: Mild and smooth. Subtle traces of caramel, banana, lemon (hence the recommendation to serve over ice with lemon twist)

Overall, highly recommend for mixers and vodka drinkers that have never enjoyed rum. Bottle runs around $40.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 41 ratings

Once heard, that its best white rum. Maybe its true but alcohol is still strong in this one as in all white rums

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jannik Schwarzbart from Denmark with 49 ratings

It will go well with a cold cola or something like that. I did not enjoy it straight up.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Ludo Marley from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Deze super premium rum uit Venezuela is blend van rums met een leeftijd van maximaal 6 jaren oud. Door de distillatie in koperen Potstills én een zuiving door middel van houtskool maakt deze rum uniek, zacht en vooral rijk van smaak. Deze rum heeft al diverse prijzen gewonnen en behoort tot de betere blanke rum.

Geschiedenis Diplomatico
Eind de jaren 80’ was Don Juancho Nieto Melendez en zijn brandende passie voor het verkennen van de bronnen en processen zorgde eruit uiteindelijk voor zijn eigen verantwoordelijkheid voor de vele verleidelijke smaken van de traditionele dranken waaronder de rum.

Hij was vooral geïnteresseerd in ambachtelijke productiemethoden die ondanks relatief constant gehouden, waren kunnen opleveren uiteenlopende duidelijk verschillende resultaten .
Hij was gefascineerd door de subtiele complexiteit van de vele omgevingsfactoren die het rum -proces beïnvloeden , zoals het weer en de vochtigheid van de tropen. Een vakman in hart en nieren , Don Juancho was onvermoeibaar en zocht naar manieren om zijn eigen product te verfijnen door bemonstering van een uitputtende reeks van exotische likeuren en rum . In feite zijn zijn indrukwekkende verzameling drank heel beroemd geworden.
Don Juancho bestudeerde aandachtig de productie- methoden die in Jamaica , die op dat tijdstip de wereldstandaard was voor de vervaardiging en de waardering van rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by radu steolea from Romania with 4 ratings

ca incepator, aveam dubii in privinta lui... ei bine, nu m-a dezamagit, dar totusi este inferior celorlalte 2 din aceeasi familie pe care le-am incercat.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Duder Maguder from United States with 3 ratings

I only drink this rum straight and am pleased with it. It has a creamy taste and mouth feel and upon swallowing you can taste sugar cane. There is a little burn, but nothing unmanageable. Overall a smooth clear rum that can be drunk neat or in a cocktail.