Posting your rating...
Kirkland Spiced rum

Rate Kirkland Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


37 Kirkland Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Bd017e08f0e5a5b5e342c6526a2a27f9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Rudy Tamayo from United States with 10 ratings

Of all the spiced rums I've ever tried this is by far the worst. It's just not good. Doesn't mix well, doesn't taste good in its own. It's just terrible. I really wish it was better.

Ec1c5f502fd815cf7a03c0a8ac4fd746.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Seems like this rum used a Costco sized serving of artificial flavors. Can't knock them too much for it because it says so on the label. I found it to be pleasant but with a lingering unnatural vanilla syrup aftertaste. The price and presentation is right for large parties. Would explore other brands for my personal use.

6187600751e23da0f54f01bfd1461ab2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Gym from Canada with 10 ratings

This a good rum by volum. It works well when people just drop by for a drink. Hid the good stuff.

D1ed8a9e71adc2b356cfc4e020e0dd0f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Drew Stephens from United States with 19 ratings

This is a very well priced rum that's not a great choice for drinking neat, but perfectly good for a dark & stormy.

F69dc6bcecc53829357d77ca653ee184.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by dwaynews from Canada with 17 ratings

Just had a Dark and Stormy head to head with Lemon Heart Blackpool Spiced. This came second. Not offensive in any way. It's only negative was being too mild in aroma and flavor. It came across more like a decent 3-5 year unspiced than anything else. Certainly drier than the Demerara sweetness of the Blackpool. Given the proof and the price it owes no apology.

Ba87ca8f38a8998f6b6431a5e0cb5fa9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at The L Garage over 2 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

Decent spiced rum. Not going to win any contests, but a decent bottle for mixing, and great at the price. I bought one bottle, and will happily drink it all, but probably won't replace it. No complaints, just not anything special, and for what it is (a cheap spiced rum), I prefer Captain.

724aec70d61d0407de9f4ae8dd56b399.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by menomineenative from United States with 1 rating

...or Goslings or any other $30+/fifth bottle of rum. But I don't think it's nearly as bad as some of the reviews I've read. I almost didn't buy it purely on the number of negative reviews. But then I realized many of the complaints were based on it having too much bite.

Just like anything I drink straight, I put a splash of water in it to knock down the alcohol. Doesn't matter if it's a $75 bottle of single malt scotch, or a $16 bottle of rum. Since this is higher alcohol content at 92 proof, I just put a little bigger splash in it. Once you knock down the alcohol content a bit, it's actually very smooth, mildly spicy, and has a strong vanilla overtone. No bad aftertaste. Certainly for $16 a bottle plus tax, it's a great value.

As a side note, I had a similar experience with Costco's blended scotch (not the 12 year stuff... that is quite good... I'm talking about the cheaper one). The first time I tried it, it was so harsh I almost returned it. But when I upped the water splash a bit, it took the bite away and left me with something inexpensive and pleasant to drink.

C9b9081a84418fad9fca691b1fbfb50a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Buck'em from Canada with 8 ratings

I was surprised at the smoothness considering the cheap price. I have had far worse for a lot more money. Not bad neat paired with a cigar. Keep on hand for cheap company.

444db4e829fa650e01afab86587049b2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by mc from United States with 41 ratings

Typically, Kirkland products are high quality and similar to the leading national brand. Not this one.

0ebae3adb303d507646df2e66c8a58bc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by cantongamer from United States with 11 ratings

This is one of the best mixer rum deals out there. If I'm having an outdoor party this rum is on the list but if I'm mixing alone, Sailor Jerry is my spiced rum.

A15ff884e939e5c59ab8b88175001d74.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Jon Krüger from Germany with 5 ratings

This is just flat-out good rum for drinking straight. Smooth, clean and tasty, with a nice afterburn. This stuff is FIVE-TIMES distilled, too. That means free of fusel oils and hangovers. All this at 46% ABV. More ABV, less hangover and half the price of stuff that's half as good.