Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.3/10
232 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
9
29
63
93
29

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

232 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Koldegaard from Denmark with 4 ratings

Great flavors fills the mouth when enjoying this fine rum

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

If you like a more dry harsh rum this is for you. A bit vapid and insipid. Not too many notes. More of an alcohol bite. A slightly harsh afterbite which would be unpleasant for some. But of course better than bacardi.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

Those who've read my other ratings know I am a big fan of the Kirk & Sweeney 12 Year - among the best rum values out there in addition to one of the best rums I've tried. I purchased the 23 Year recently and sampled it alongside the 12 Year, and my conclusion is that those who prefer a less-sweet rum with more "barrel character" should definitely seek out this edition. Makes sense right? But, to be clear, I find this rum has virtually all those other characteristics that make the 12 Year great - the buttery finish being my personal favorite. And once again, the price of this offerings makes it a great value. Well done!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Rick from United States with 30 ratings

This rum is great! Not much more expensive than the 12 year but it's worth it! Prefect balance of sweet and dry. I will be buying more of this soon!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 10 ratings

Maybe I was a victim of high expectations, but to my palette this drinks much like the Three Sheets Barrel Aged. Maple comes through on the nose, as does a woodsy note - you can tell its spent some time in oak barrels. Has a nice, lingering finish, but IMO it lacks the complexity of the finer blends - I've come to think rums are like red wines in that their blends can assume an outcome greater than the sum of its parts. A perfectly fine rum that packaged beautifully and drinks fine neat, and like the TSBA, sings in a mai tai mix. But as it doesn't stand out much beyond the TSBA, it too gets an '8.'

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

I used the data base to help guide my purchaser of this rum and it leaves me wondering. While it does have a great nose, it does not finish well as I think it would for a 23yr. I thought that this would be a wonderful rum with a deceptive price point like Plantation 20th. Don't get me wrong, it's good. I was expecting more, however.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Brian Brix Kristensen from Denmark with 6 ratings

Does it ever get any better than this? I dare not give a 10 as I have yet to taste QRM 30 (and a lot other I expect to be in 10ish range) -so this one gets a 9

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

This has taken a place in the highest echelon of rums I own. Truly a fantastic rum. One of the first that flavors and smells are really jumping out in each nosing. I will be buying a few more bottles to put away. When people find out this is as good as it is it will be hard to find.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

Vanilla, nutmeg, oak, and butterscotch and all for just a few dollars more than the 18yr.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Hari from United States with 11 ratings

This is the first rum that I have had that my first thought is tobacco. Very smokey and oaky. Great sipping rum on the rocks. I will look for this rum again.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Chris from United States with 2 ratings

It tastes like a single barrel, without that sweet blended texture. Great full flavor and easy to sip over just ice. Not as smooth as some blended rums, but I like that distinction. Probably the best value for a true 23 year rum.