Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.2/10
198 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
9
23
70
78
13

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

198 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Denis from Canada with 11 ratings

Beautiful aroma and the flavours follow with it. Flavours last nicely on the exit. A little expensive in Alberta but worth it

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter from Slovakia with 74 ratings

ocakavania velke a chvalabohu splnene. pil som starsieho brata, ktory milo prekvapil a rodinka kirk and sweeney ma stale neprestava tesit. rum je jemny, chutovo trochu menej vyrazny ako 23y ale zato je miene sladsi, ale iba mierne. nieje to uplne suchy rum, no rozhodne ani nie sladky tak ako ich pozname. vo voni mi najviac preraza karamel a werthers original :-))). sladka vona, velmi prijemna. alkohol je velmi prijemny aj vo voni a vobec neudiera do nosu. ale tie werthers su tam neskutocne citit. ta voni sa objavuje aj v chuti. cukriky sa pretlacili aj do nej. mliecny karamel je tam zastupeny uplne najviac, aj v dozvuku. potom karamel a drevo citit iba lahko, aj to iba v tele. pokial sa tento rum iba srka, tak alkohol nieje ani tema, lahko zahreje neskriabe. plnsie dusky su zaujimavejsie, viac ovocia v chuty prijemne doplnene alkoholom ktory vsak ani pri vacsich duskoch neskriabe. kto nieje na moderne sladke rumy ale chce skusit aj nieco s charakterom je toto vyborna volba. ten usaty dedko tam je furt :-). 9,25/10. u trochu mi viac sedi ako 23y ktora je tiez neskutocny rum

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 96 ratings

I wanted to try that rum many months. When I bought celebrate opening and drinking...and....I felt disappointment. Ok - good balance, smooth...but...nothing special for me. Light vanilla in nose, woody but taste....nothing special....really nothing to remember...hmmm maybe I was expected something great...maybe that's my fault...obviously I need to try one more bottle. Then I can update info.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Moberg from Germany with 9 ratings

After reading the Ratings, I'd like to buy Kirk&Sweeney 23 years, but it was sold out. So I took the 18 years. Believe me or not, I was quiet dissapointed. A bunch of vanilla in a wooden cask. And it burns rather badly. Nevertheless, I will try the 23 years one.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Adam Michael Wood from United States with 1 rating

This is everything I like in rum. It's sweet, but not sugary. It has an alcohol burn, but is pretty damn smooth. The aroma is incredible.

My first thought of the scent was maple syrup, but the more I drink it the more I think butterscotch is a better description. The taste is excellent - full and well-balanced. A bit like brandy. Not fruity.

I usually drink rum on the rocks, and frequently with lime. I haven't been able to bring myself to do either with this.

Additionally, I think it's really great relative to its price point. The other rums I've had that were this good were a lot more expensive.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Once again, anything less than a 9 for this rum is unconscionable! It is just as good as the 23 with some small differences. This one is a little less sweet, a little less oaked, and has a tiny bit of a dryer almond taste. Other than that, its pretty much the same review I wrote for the 23. Next stop, the 12 year. Yeah, I did this one totally backwards...

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

We tried this because my wife liked the K & S 12 year. I thought this was even better and so did she.

There is a very strong aroma of vanilla in this rum. One of the strongest scents of any rum I have ever had. You can smell it as soon as you open the bottle. The rum is very smooth and you have a hint of vanilla in the taste. Very good sipper.

I drink it on the rocks with with one ice cube,.

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by Pipestone from Slovakia with 39 ratings

I like 23year so I hoped this could be close.
But no. It is not so complex, I taste a lot of vanilla but artificial.
Aroma - almost any, I was for a while afraid that maybe because of Covid.
Sure I will not buy another bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by Jara from Czech Republic with 56 ratings

Nevtíravě vynikající, okouzlující.
Sladká, vanilková přitažlivá vůně.
Chuť: vanilka, cukrová třtina, karamel, muškátový oříšek, dub s náznakem sherry.
Jemně nahořklá, čokoládová dochuť s příjemným slabě štiplavým závěrem.

Small  d98zz5

Posted 18 days ago by rv from Belgium with 5 ratings

Very good rum. Drinks well with or without ice. An aftertaste of sherry that I'm personally not a fan of. But that's how it is described in the review so you know that in advance. The evening was long and pleasant, so highly recommended for anyone who loves a good rum. Enjoy it people.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by scotvet97 from United States with 2 ratings

A terrific rum to drink neat with it’s oaky, vanilla, caramel, smokey notes. I also use it to make old fashioneds with just a little simple syrup and three dashes of orange bitters. Delicious!