Posting your rating...
Real McCoy 12-Year rum

Real McCoy 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

7.4/10 (104 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
11
32
42
14
1

Rate Real McCoy 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


104 Real McCoy 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rei from Germany with 101 ratings

Nose: oak, molasses, dates, dried fruits, vanilla. Palate: Oak barrel, dark chocolate, slightly smoky notes, nutty, raisins. Finish: Mild and long-lasting
Conclusion: An authentic, honest Barbados rum of 12 years in barrel without sugar additives.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by RumBech from Denmark with 13 ratings

Smagen er blød og afrundet med lidt fedme. Karamel Mørke krydderier peber røg.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Jab from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

I though, that I know enough about R. L. Seale rums. But this one surprised me. Its more pleasant and drinkable than Doorlys 12 or another one from Barbados MGXO. Though on the other hand its not that distinctive. I would recommend McCoy if you can find a bottle for a good price. One of the more pleasant non-sugared rums.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 121 ratings

Nice colour of Ron. End taste is bit sharper, like cinnamon could be felt. There is also a vanilla flavour but Ron is not so sweet. So the guys better drink it. It has full body. I like it. Empty glass after Ron is nice to smell like dried plums I feel. :-)

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

Had this on ice. Great sweet taste, this is a good one for the home.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Roubrt from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

The taste was a little too whiskey-like for me. Since I don't drink whiskey this wasn't the right rum for me at the moment.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

The aroma offers no sweetness to my nose. Alcohol, fruity (orange?) and soft vanilla and oak. Quite warm on the palate but not hot. It's a very, very strong but smooth warmth. Very dry on the palate. A hint of natural sweetness initially but dries out very quickly and stays dry and woody. Hints of leather. As it sits in the glass and opens up a touch more sweetness comes through on the front end and a bit more oak character. This tastes like aged rum, no BS. Hints of oak, leather and vanilla. Not whisky-like. Long softly bitter finish, slightly numbing. I'd think this is a purist's rum. I like it! A lot! What I would expect from Foursquare. Pure rum, no bull, no sugar, just distilled molasses aged in oak and all the complexities that goes with it. This is a no nonsense rum that has a lot going on and a lot going for it. Highly recommended. Fine Barbados rum, I've yet to be disappointed by one. Enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Had high hopes for this rum base on the reviews but did not find anything to justify the price. Nose was to sharp, none of the whiskey or molasses hints I expected. This was recommended as a sipper yet the bit covered up the body leaving just a hint of funk. As a mixer again disappointed as it did not carry through with any definition in ginger ale or coke, slightly heavy in citrus. Not a rum I will rebuy though I enjoyed some of the funk.

UPDATE- tried the next round mixed stronger and enjoyed it more...moved to a 7 and may keep in my bar after all...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 209 ratings

Reminds me of a slightly more refined RL Searle 10yr.. I compared this along side the 12yr limited edition. Nice deep golden colour in the glass , no added sugars here. On the nose caramel but restrained , not over the top and oak. No fruit notes that I could smell. Dry rum obviously as no sugar , tastes like it should , old school rum , leather , spice and caramel. Good classic rum.. that said I preferred the limited edition with the Madeira.

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Though the 10yr Limited Virgin Oak brings a lot to the table, the 12 us sweeter with more of a molasses flavor.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

...guter Rum geblendet vom ehemaligen Masterblender von Foursquare, das sagt eigentlich schon alles.