Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10 (265 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
8
39
69
103
38
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


265 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 424 ratings

Clasat Rum. One can feel the rich cask taste from the moment the bottle is opened. Aromatic, matured rum, the woody white oak makes its presence felt throughout the sip, taste and aftertaste. Didn' t expect much from it but it really impressed me.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Bramski from Netherlands with 11 ratings

If you smell this rum, you instantly reconize that it is not a light one. Vanille and alcohol. The taste is really distinctive. Full body, dominates all of your tastebuds and gives you a nice smokey flavour. The afterburn is really present but not unpleasant, it will make sure you will not forget this rum. Nice kick in it, good rum if you are looking for something dryer and less sweet, without sacrificing good flavours.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 299 ratings

Ve vůni příjemný, v chutí částečně sherry, sice není nasládlý typu Oliver, ale i tak zajímavý

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 53 ratings

You can order this at a good bar and sip on it. It does the job. It has a nice presentation of toffee and woody flavors. Unfortunately it is simply far too dry to be considered in the top echelons of rum sipping goodness. This this more like Tennessee whiskey labeled as rum. It’s by no means a bad choice, but there are better rums in the category for the price.

Nose: 7
Palate: 6
Aftertaste: 6
Smoothness: 5
Versatility: 7
Price: 6

Total: 6.1

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

A bit pricier than other more complex rums or those with dimension. Good in general, but not great. Not a ton of dimension and a tad bit drier for an aged option, but works well neat or with a single cube of ice. Glad i tried it, but it is not on the go to list. ymmv

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Sam W from United States with 6 ratings

Very mature and classy rum. Hints of banana with leather greet you and iced it smoothly goes down with no burn. Very happy to have discovered this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 208 ratings

Nice dark colour , very astringent nose , smells like Airfix glue ? Still quite strong after 10 minutes in the glass. Fortunately its better than it smells , dry with a bit of a bite , can definitely taste caramel. A very smooth finish with very little burn. Quite a nice sipper but very good with cola , it seems to help bring more flavours out.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

Some will be put off by the oak - it is prominent - or lack of 'smoothness' (aka 'distiller adds large quantities of sugars'), but this moderately priced rum borders on excellence. I suspect it is unadulterated; good. Quite distinctive with leather, tobacco and dark tea notes (pu erh-ish), some dark fruit encroaches just slightly with very dark chocolate tones...very satisfying. Considering how easily one can misspend money on 'premium' rums, this is accurately priced. A real switch-hitter from other standbys in the cabinet when you get bored. Reminds me of Appleton 12, and (less so) of Barbancourt 15.

As a scotch whisky fiend, I recommend to similarly addicted drinkers.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dave from Belgium with 41 ratings

Is de beste brugal die ik heb gedronken .heel zachte na smaak deze mag zeker niet ontbreken in mijn collectie 👍👍👍👍. Een aanrader

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

rarely find a sipping rum that i rate under 7. and most people seem ok with this one. but the taste at star and finish don't do it for me or the guys at tasting night. just sayin'.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Linas from Norway with 33 ratings

Brugal 1888 is Nice and smooth rum .
Complex, with the right balance between dry and sweet.