Posting your rating...
Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Zaya Gran Reserva Rum is a blend of rums distilled from molasses in a five column still, the rums are aged in white oak barrels for a up to 12 years.

Zaya rum was initially distilled by Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala in Guatemala. The brand was acquired in 2008 by Infinium Spirits and is now produced in Trinidad and distilled by Angostura.

7.2/10 (567 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
10
27
12
26
52
112
180
111
26

Rate Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

567 Zaya Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

If this is the best that your store has, you'll be ok buying this, but there are many much better rums out there. Too much burn and oakiness to realize any other flavors.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Randy5555 from Canada with 1 rating

I have tried many Rums and Zaya is by far the best rum in my opinion. I still like drinking many others but the flavour and aroma of Zaya is amazing straight or with mix. I would recommend it to anyone.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by TriggerMortis from United States with 1 rating

Smooth, sweet, powerful. Beautiful color. Perfect to drink on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by accfree from United States with 1 rating

I like rum, but this is not a rum. Dominating Artificial vanilla taste, very thin overall, zero complexity. 35 USD down the drain (poured the whole bottle - 2oz into kitchen sink).

Bottle bought: Jan 19, 2019.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Alas from Puerto Rico with 41 ratings

This is similar to Zafra but too sweet for me, so tough to say it’s not good cause it is, but only if you prefer a sweeter rum, everything else is pretty solid (smoothness, taste, finish, etc)

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

This rum has changed ... the new version with the screw on cap is revolting. Zaya should be Ashamed and Embarrassed to even put their name on this artificial crap. The aroma has an intensely chemical vanilla nature with an unpleasant overtone of aftershave. The taste is consistent with the aroma, and is cloyingly, sickly sweet. I like vanilla, but not this artificial, chemical-tasting vanilla. This product is truly horrible. You may think I'm exaggerating or being overly dramatic, but no. With absolute sincerity, I can tell you, this product is truly horrible.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Deryck from United States with 2 ratings

This rum is smooth, nice aroma. For the price it’s a steal.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Lezizmo from Belgium with 42 ratings

One of the better sippers that still is afordable. Fancy and classy! Love it!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Mxbk from France with 3 ratings

Ce rhum est une explosion olfactive de vanille et de caramel....ça plait...ou pas, mais il ne laisse pas indifférent.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Robert Cucurull from United States with 1 rating

Smells like Vanilla extract with caramel to the nose but finishes with a perfect balance and smoother than heavy cream. Not too oaky at Best aged rum that I’ve tasted for the price. It’s what I drink every time now. No burn on the palate whatsoever. Try it with Q craft cola and angostura bitters. It’s the best rum for mixing that I’ve ever had and have some friends in Miami that love it with Organic Coconut water. It’s a masterpiece from a real rum die hard!! Standing ovation.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

Not far off from Zacapa (Another "Z" rum, but from a totally different place in the Caribbean), this one is almost syrupy and sweet on the rocks. I wouldn't diss it as dark Karo, but there's too much sugar in this to enjoy any natural flavors hidden here.