Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged | 38.0% ABV

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10
576 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
18
35
131
220
143
24
3

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

576 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Jero83 🇨🇴 | 10 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Beautiful presentation, box and bottle. The price its ok, maybe good. Nice color and aroma and it has some magic inside. It is a little dry and has some tasty notes. I really recommend it.

Scott T 🇺🇸 | 122 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Not a rum for beginners or for all palates. Very dry, smokey, leathery. I am sure it would be a great rum with a cigar, but I am not a smoker.

For the $20 I paid, I wish I had grabbed a couple more. When I tried, it had sold out.

Steven James 🇬🇧 | 33 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

There are toffee and sweet brown sugar aromas, but the rum doesn't smell overly sweet. There is also the slightest hint of oakiness. There's a nice light sweetness to the rum initially and a touch of oaky bitterness which then fills your mouth with toffee. Not very complex at all but its tasty. More of a mood rum for me.

Dave_Petrik 🇨🇿 | 1 rating
Posted over 5 years ago

Velice nádherná vůně čokolády a tabáku. Chuť jemná a výtečná. Poměr cena/výkon, vynikající. Tento rum bych doporučil vážně každému.

Steve 🇨🇦 | 3 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

I first had this in punta cana and absolutely loved it. i started having friends pick me up a bottle when visiting the dominican. The odd time the LCBO carries it in hamilton. I prefer this straight up or on the rocks rather than in a mix or rum and coke. Out of a dozen rums in my liquor cabinet, this is the one i reach for after a long day at work.

HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 344 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Vítejte u další recenze, tentokrát se jedná o vlajkovou loď firmy Ron Barceló z Dominikánské republiky, dodávané v krásné elegantní lahvi o obsahu 0,7 litru a 38% alkoholu. Zrál nejméně 7 (některé zdroje uvádějí 8) let v sudech z amerického dubu.

Aroma: Výrazná vůně kůže a tabáku, čokolády, nasládlost se potkává se zemitostí.
Chuť: V chuti neobyčejně uhlazený, sametový, lahodný, plný a rozinkově nasládlý.
Když budu hodně přísný, líbila by se mi větší výraznost dochuti, je na můj vkus příliš jemná.
Shrnutí: Tento rum jsem podrobil opravdu náročným testům :-) , srovnával jsem s celou řadou rumů, které se u mě sešly. A patří k tomu nejlepšímu, co jsem poslední dobou ochutnal. Stroh 40, Abuelo Añejo, Matusalem 15y, ti všichni zůstali ve stínu Imperialu, jediný rum, který dopadl ještě lépe, byla Angostura 1824, ale tam už jsme v úplně jiné cenové relaci. Imperial seženete už kolem 550,-Kč, takže další muzikant, který vám zahraje hodně muziky za málo peněz.
Přijde mi, že mi s každou další přechutnávkou chutná víc a víc. Výraznější dochuť by z něj udělala supernovu...
Body: 89

Marijke 🇳🇱 | 26 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Begint wat scherp, maar smaak lijkt snel weg. De tweederum tijdens ons Lama avondje.

Néstor 🇵🇪 | 37 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Excelente ron, muy por encima de otros premium en cuanto a relación calidad/precio se refiere. Es un ron con un dulzor agradable, no raspa y con un final afrutado y caramelo. Para tomarlo solo con hielo.

Carlos 🇨🇦 | 36 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This is just a really enjoyable rum. Not bursting with flavours or aromas, but genuinely delicious. You could have a glass of this anytime. A great straight up sipper.

RumGuy1 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I bought this rum while vacationing in the Florida keys. It was a nice rum to drink while hurricane partying. But this rum is a mixer. Although it has nice flavors, this rum lacks depth and it has an overly alcoholic taste to it. At $33 USD, I’d rather invest in something else.

lucle5 🇨🇦 | 13 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Goût de caramel fumé, excellent pour dégustation, un peu sec par contre, pas cher pour un bon rhum en république Dominicaine (30$ can).