Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged | 38.0% ABV

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10
565 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
18
34
131
216
138
23
3

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

565 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Azrael777 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

I am always looking for a rum that tastes different, but this one disappoint. You can taste molasses right away, but is just not as tasty as what i am looking for; it just taste the same as other rums.

For me, I am always looking for a rum that is dark, sweet, and smooth; but this one is not.

Good rum, but not the best sipping tasting one…. Where is tattoo…

Jonas Nielsen 🇩🇰 | 8 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Det var denne rom, som startede min interesse for rom.

Dustin Doran 🇺🇸 | 78 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Best Dominican rum I've had so far. Nutty, smooth, rich and lingering.

Banana 🇮🇹 | 10 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Yes!
Granted that I prefer Agricole RVM, the first time I've drink Barcelò, I remained amazed about the colour: dark ambrè but with very red glares, a delight for the eyes. But the taste... for an anejo, of 40° I supposed it was more velvet, instead I've found a RVM too lively for my preferences.
Inappropriate for a night on the beach...

Kevin 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Highly abraisive on the tounge at first, but slowly comes out with some good oak and vanilla taste. Best on the rocks or with cola.

RhumsTeq 🇫🇷 | 32 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

The packaging of the Bacelo Imperial rum is a real success. The flask is splendid, it really guides the consumer to buy.

The appearance of the rum itself is reddish amber.
In my opinion the nose is predominantly flavored with leather and tobacco, with hints of oak and vanilla.
These flavors can be retrieved on the palate, making it a rum rather simple. It is pretty dry, increasing the bite of the alcohol depiste its reasonable proof.

The dryness is however less predominant than for the Diplomatico Reserva rum (I'm not talking about the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum, 12 yo, but about the 6 yo one), reason why I've granted this rum with a 7.

I would have ranked this rum below the Angostura 1919 and the Plantation Barbados 2000 rums (marked with a 7 too), but the flask leveled my opinion.

donmichelangelo 🇩🇪 | 25 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

...it's not bad at all but I'm not into this kind of flavour profile, also, it enters your mouth with much attention but then it disappears very fast with a spicy finish.

Scott 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted over 9 years ago

This is a very versatile rum that with a big suprise in flavor. Good on the rocks or neat it also mixes well with tonic or coke. I've gone all up and down the spectrum and this rum fits many needs. For a sipping rum I lean to Zacappa XO but Barcelo is a moderate price and well worth it. Without question it is my "go to" rum. While I can't get in Michigan I find DrinkUpNY is easy to deal with.

RumSteve 🇺🇸 | 15 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Appearance: Cherry color
Nose: Cocoa, lemon, oak, some citrusy scents
Palate: Warm and rich

One of my top go-to rums. Voted best rum in the world by the BI 2000, 2001.
Definitely something to try, and the price is fantastic!

cyryl 🇫🇷 | 5 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Distillerie : Barcelo
Provenance : Saint Domingue, République Dominicaine

Rhum de tradition espagnole, le rhum Ron Barcelo Imperial est issu d'un assemblage de rhums âgés de 4 à 11 ans.

Sa robe est ambrée, légèrement fauve.

Le nez est assez riche ; on relève des notes fauves assez puissantes, du caramel et une pointe de vanille.

En bouche ce rhum est toujours aussi caramélisé, l'attaque est moelleuse mais puissante et très "sec" et boisée ; on retrouve au palais la vanille, des notes assez dures de cuir, des épices.

Le finale est tout aussi sec et puissant, limite austère.
Ce rhum est sans aucun doute un rhum de caractère (boisé à souhait), avis aux amateurs...

Benito B. 🇱🇺 | 66 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

The Ron Barcelo Imperial, is a very dark and woody rum with very strong oak aromas but also coffee, nutmeg and vanilla notes.




Brand Details

Name: Imperial
Company: Barcelo
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 38.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading