Barcelo Gran Anejo rum

Barcelo Gran Anejo

Dominican Republic | Aged

6.1/10
214 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
13
36
84
61
15
3

Rate Barcelo Gran Anejo

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

214 Barcelo Gran Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Demno 🇨🇿 | 92 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Quite a decent rum, first try is really sharp aftertaste, second try gives a smooth feel. The aroma of the wooden casks. Can be sipped.

Marc Cardinal 🇧🇪 | 399 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Coffee, vanilla, not very long finish without personnality. A good one for cocktail or rocks & coke.
Quote : 6.5

Václav 🇨🇿 | 78 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Very decent, very smooth rum, with wide sugary sweetness and body with hints of coffee and sweet spice. It has very slight after taste burn. I recommend this one as good bargain with high benefit cost. It's very drinkable rum, decent mixer and simple sipper (with no distinctive or surprising taste, however).

Russ 🇺🇸 | 85 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

The Dominicans scored big with this one! I can't believe all the poor or so-so ratings. This rum is fantastic. It's good iced cold and it also makes a punchy rum and coke. This should serve as the standard for "Anejo" rums! It is very balanced, starts with a nice rum bite, finishes smooth with a very subtle sweetness, and is not over oaked. The aroma lingers in the nose and the pallet for a while maintaining a vanilla and nutty finish. Molasses, fruit, and sugar are not the centerpiece of this Anejo. This is a "hotter" more punchy aged rum.

Fedde van der Woude 🇳🇱 | 8 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

As always I taste my rum neat. Not a full bodied smooth rum but no overpowering alcohol or burn which is not bad for a rum priced pretty much on par with a Havana club blanco. Spicy and not overly sweet. Pretty decent.

tb420 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

We picked up at least a case of this at the supermarket in DR for drinking every day and all day. Good straight, great mixed, and it was only like 8 bucks or so. Hard to remember for some reason.
A simple, non-oaky, lightly aged, and lightly colored basic rum similar to bacardi gold, but smoother and slightly more complex.
Mixed with lime and coke, sugar and lime (daquiri), and san pelligrino lemon-ade seltzer. It never got old, unlike the DR's most popular beer, El Presidente, which was hard to drink by the third day (but not impossible ;)

austropet 🇩🇪 | 9 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I have recently decided to give rum a serious try and as the odds decided I started my rum endeavour with the Barcelo Gran Anejo. Initially I was really happy with the taste and in hind side I think it was a good rum to start with. Now that I have tried some more rums from the high quality palette I would give it an average rating. It is a good rum and once in a while I still drink a sip of it on the rocks, but for the pure taste I would pick another one.

Captain Cole 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

For a well priced rum you can’t beat it. Smooth taste and nice color, everything you look for in a rum, and doesn’t hurt the wallet. Always a fan for the Barceló brand and hasn’t failed.

Gun_Collector 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This rum really surprised me. For a rum in the $20 range this is a great selection. It is smooth, with a little bite at the end. Great flavor, great color. Pretty good rum for the money. Definitely a good sipping rum.

Seko 🇨🇿 | 166 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

The taste is not very unique, typical Brugal/Barcelo family. Nose of brown sugar, sweet taste profile with touch of oak, short aftertaste. Overall the rum is quite mild, but it is also cheap. I consider it as a cheap, mild, versatile rum which can be used in cocktails or if you want to get trashed cheap you can sip it alright.