Tommy Bahama Golden Sun rum

Tommy Bahama Golden Sun

Barbados | Gold

5.8/10
18 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
4
4
5
1
1

Rate Tommy Bahama Golden Sun

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

18 Tommy Bahama Golden Sun ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Todd Dunn 🇺🇸 | 45 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Can be a a good sipper, but a good mixer for sure.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 516 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

For only $24.99 (BevMo!, 2015), this is a pretty decent rum.

Oak, whiskey, vanilla, brown sugar, smoke, and cinnamon. It's better than I expected; but to me, I think there is just a bit too much whiskey. Even so, a good rum for a decent price.

Triton Ogletree 🇺🇸 | 103 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Decent rum but it was twice the price of similar products for no apparent reason. I'll buy Appleton Gold for half the price and not bat an eye.

ZTrain1177 🇨🇦 | 74 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Okay as a mixer but nothing really special or I would recommend.

Bob 🇺🇸 | 74 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Definitely a demerara style and quite sweet considering theres no sugar added. This surprised me because usually these types of flavors tell me there bas been sugar added. It’s like a better Havana Club 7 and has a familiarity to Pussers as well.

JeffBuck 🇺🇸 | 80 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is a discontinued product so if you find it then buy it for the nostalgia. I actually rated the same rating for the White Sands but I put it above this one in profile for a mixer.

Tom 🇺🇸 | 228 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Amber colored rum from Barbados that is a pretty good value for the money. Nice bottle presentation, flavors are ok, nothing really complex. I have both the Golden sun and the White Sands. I believe they are being weeded out of the market, so get them before they are gone. Oakiness and spice and a little heat

jim burnds 🇺🇸 | 29 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Saw the bottle in a liquor store in Illinois. Bought a smallish bottle for $10. It gave me an opportunity to try it and not regret spending much money.
I find it to be mild with nothing that really makes it unique. I do like the shape of the bottle .

Mr. Rum Guy 🇺🇸 | 23 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Really awful. I can't believe Tommy Bahama put a name on it. This stuff would be better used as a cleaner vs a drinking or sipping rum. Great bottle, great label, cheap closure... This is a classic case of a nice package with below average juice. TB is turning a big profit and thats great but do yourself a favor and get better rum for your bar and rest..

Anthony C 🇺🇸 | 186 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Interesting that such a brand would make a less than stellar product. Mix it heavily.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Okay...checklist...

Famous name...check.

Product of Barbados...check.

Cool label...check.

Nice solid bottle...check.

I usually like rum from Barbados. According to what I have read it's actually distilled by R. L. Seale & Company. That's a good sign.

Plastic top pulls off leaving rubber cork behind...check...

Uh-oh...not a good sign.

Okay, I went pirate and pulled the cork out with my teeth. No breakage. Both my teeth AND the bottle.

Let's start with the color...a deep amber gradient to golden yellow in shallower parts of the snifter. Nice legs in the snifter. Not too thin. A mild aroma. Hard to describe (which has always been a problem of mine). Let's just say the aroma is not objectionable nor harsh.

The flavor is relatively smooth and has a bit of butteriness to it and spiciness that hits early. There is only a hint of vanilla and not much sweetness. Sort of halfway between a cane molasses rum and an agricole. From what I have read it's made from fermented molasses. A decent burn is present all the way down the throat. Aged for three years in oak whisky and bourbon barrels give it a bit of oak character. The finish is a bit bitter however which is disappointing.

For a Barbados distilled rum it's a tad disappointing. However it's not a bad rum. Just not great either. At around $20 it's an affordable rum. It's usable as a mixer but nothing more than that. Not smooth enough in my opinion for sipping and even a little water doesn't really make it sippable either.

All in all it's a rum that workable but not memorable.




Brand Details

Name: Golden Sun
Company: Tommy Bahama
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading