The Scarlet Ibis Gold rum

The Scarlet Ibis Gold

Trinidad and Tobago | Gold

The Scarlet Ibis rum was initially produced for exclusive use by the Death & Co bar in New York, and now available in available to the public in limited quantities as supplies last.

This rum is a blend of pot-still rums from Trinidad that were aged 3-5 years in white oak casks. The name is derived from the bright pink Scarlet Ibis bird, which is native to the Caribbean and adorns the bottle.

7.3/10
40 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
1
13
13
4
3

Rate The Scarlet Ibis Gold

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

40 The Scarlet Ibis Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 6 years ago by RedBlaze6 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 26 ratings

Fresh and light aroma. Smells like sweetened sea water with a subtle brininess to it, in a good way. Interesting peppery harshness at the front. The back end is where you find the faint molasses flavor. The finish is surprisingly smooth. No burn in the throat but a pleasant heat in the chest (that 49% doe). Would work great in a well crafted cocktail when looking to add a sharp flavor profile as opposed to sweetness. Definitely not an entry level sipping rum but enjoyable neat or on the rocks when looking for a peppery smack in da mouth.

Unfortunately my bottle didn't come as pictured above with the attractive long neck and cork top. Better luck next bottle.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 228 ratings

One of the drier rums available with some alcohol burn, some hot spice notes like pepper combined with vanilla, caramel, brown sugar and banana. This is a fine rum to drink neat but also does well in mixed drinks.

Posted over 9 years ago by Da'rum πŸ‡©πŸ‡ͺ | 22 ratings

Taste perfection, the absolute poster child for a young rum. It show's in style that a perfect rum does not need to be old. It just needs to be made with skill.
No caramel added, aged for 3 years, a good high flavour carrying proof and pot stilled. Slightly too expensive at 45€ which means I won't buy it often but it still maintains a 10/10 because it is just that well made.

A thoroughly enjoyable straight sipper.

Posted 12 months ago by Quilty πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 15 ratings

Not to be had alone, it’s ok in cocktails but all the promise of interesting aromas leads to disappointment when actually drinking it. Color is nice, aromas are complex with vanilla as the lead, but it never comes through on the palate. Unwanted grassiness and imbalance are the primary attributes. I really wanted to like it.

Posted over 4 years ago by piratejabez πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 324 ratings

49% ABV. I believe the bottle said the blend of Trini rums were aged 3–5 years before bottling. Interesting nose. Some high notes. Mouth is a bit deeper. Starts light and cane-y, but dry. You can detect the oily, smoky Caroni. Surprisingly long finish.

Death & Company got something really good when this was developed for them. I love the proof, and I imagine this mixes like a charm. May need to make this my new "interesting" gold rum.

8-, 8

Posted over 4 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 81 ratings

Smells like wet hay and tropical fruit skin, then tastes real hot and fruity with a little toffee. I was only sampling this at a bar, and sipping it straight was less than pleasant, but I could see this being lovely in cocktails or on the rocks!
If I get the chance to experiment further, I'll be sure to update!

Posted over 5 years ago by JackOrion πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 61 ratings

A+ rum, price is right proof is right. A bit obscure in the realm of classic rums. Perfect right down the middle young rum with a solid foot on the dry side. Care has been taken into crafting this, If your seeking good quality rum you will not be disappointed one bit.

Posted 6 years ago by Dino πŸ‡©πŸ‡ͺ | 43 ratings

This is what you'd expect from a good rum but rarely get in a single bottle. Strong but with mild and wide spread notes of wood and tropical fruits and a fulminant development in your mouth and palate. Not the cheapest but I will definitely get another one! Use only in high quality cocktails, if not better straight!

Posted over 6 years ago by nomad πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 134 ratings

This is a lovely well-rounded rum; somewhat dry and perfectly spicy. this is really smooth for a 3-5yo spirit. At 49% you would expect it to be hotter than it tastes too.

This goes on the short list. VERY WELL DONE!!!!!

Sugar test-0g

Posted over 6 years ago by Scott T πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 122 ratings

This is an outstanding dry estery rum that has a lot of clove flavor to it. tastes like a spiced rum but it not. Adds a very unique aspect to mixed drinks, especially when used as the jamaican component in a Mai Tai.




Brand Details

Name: Gold
Company: The Scarlet Ibis
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2886
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
544
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
513