The Scarlet Ibis Gold rum

The Scarlet Ibis Gold

Trinidad and Tobago | Gold

The Scarlet Ibis rum was initially produced for exclusive use by the Death & Co bar in New York, and now available in available to the public in limited quantities as supplies last.

This rum is a blend of pot-still rums from Trinidad that were aged 3-5 years in white oak casks. The name is derived from the bright pink Scarlet Ibis bird, which is native to the Caribbean and adorns the bottle.

7.2/10
42 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
3
1
13
14
4
3

Rate The Scarlet Ibis Gold

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

42 The Scarlet Ibis Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Chris 🇨🇦 | 21 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Fine fine sipper. Really well done. I like it a lot.

RedBlaze6 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Fresh and light aroma. Smells like sweetened sea water with a subtle brininess to it, in a good way. Interesting peppery harshness at the front. The back end is where you find the faint molasses flavor. The finish is surprisingly smooth. No burn in the throat but a pleasant heat in the chest (that 49% doe). Would work great in a well crafted cocktail when looking to add a sharp flavor profile as opposed to sweetness. Definitely not an entry level sipping rum but enjoyable neat or on the rocks when looking for a peppery smack in da mouth.

Unfortunately my bottle didn't come as pictured above with the attractive long neck and cork top. Better luck next bottle.

Tom 🇺🇸 | 230 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

One of the drier rums available with some alcohol burn, some hot spice notes like pepper combined with vanilla, caramel, brown sugar and banana. This is a fine rum to drink neat but also does well in mixed drinks.

Helena Tiare 🇸🇪 | 110 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This rum is special because it´s a bit harsh and at the same time it`s an important component in certain tiki drinks giving the drink a funk and it mixes well with other rums. It´s not a rum for everybody and certainly not a beginner´s rum.

Da'rum 🇩🇪 | 22 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Taste perfection, the absolute poster child for a young rum. It show's in style that a perfect rum does not need to be old. It just needs to be made with skill.
No caramel added, aged for 3 years, a good high flavour carrying proof and pot stilled. Slightly too expensive at 45€ which means I won't buy it often but it still maintains a 10/10 because it is just that well made.

A thoroughly enjoyable straight sipper.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 464 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I finally got my hands on a bottle of this blend of 3-5 year old rums from Trinidad. And yes, it has enough Caroni in it to be able to detect this. At only $27 US per bottle, this can be called the poor man's Caroni. For those who ever wanted to know what Caroni tasted like and can't find or afford any, this one is your chance. It is bottled dry at 49% ABV and was commissioned about 4 years after Caroni went out of business by a famous cocktail lounge in NYC known as Death & Co. Some of these bottles remain for sale, but are extremely hard to find. Hopefully, the dirty notes of the Caroni portion will not reveal their ugly head as the rum slowly disappears in my bottle.

Quilty 🇺🇸 | 15 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Not to be had alone, it’s ok in cocktails but all the promise of interesting aromas leads to disappointment when actually drinking it. Color is nice, aromas are complex with vanilla as the lead, but it never comes through on the palate. Unwanted grassiness and imbalance are the primary attributes. I really wanted to like it.

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

49% ABV. I believe the bottle said the blend of Trini rums were aged 3–5 years before bottling. Interesting nose. Some high notes. Mouth is a bit deeper. Starts light and cane-y, but dry. You can detect the oily, smoky Caroni. Surprisingly long finish.

Death & Company got something really good when this was developed for them. I love the proof, and I imagine this mixes like a charm. May need to make this my new "interesting" gold rum.

8-, 8

"Samuel Brunello" 🇺🇸 | 83 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Smells like wet hay and tropical fruit skin, then tastes real hot and fruity with a little toffee. I was only sampling this at a bar, and sipping it straight was less than pleasant, but I could see this being lovely in cocktails or on the rocks!
If I get the chance to experiment further, I'll be sure to update!

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

A+ rum, price is right proof is right. A bit obscure in the realm of classic rums. Perfect right down the middle young rum with a solid foot on the dry side. Care has been taken into crafting this, If your seeking good quality rum you will not be disappointed one bit.

Dino 🇩🇪 | 43 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is what you'd expect from a good rum but rarely get in a single bottle. Strong but with mild and wide spread notes of wood and tropical fruits and a fulminant development in your mouth and palate. Not the cheapest but I will definitely get another one! Use only in high quality cocktails, if not better straight!




Brand Details

Name: Gold
Company: The Scarlet Ibis
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading