The Scarlet Ibis Gold rum

The Scarlet Ibis Gold

Trinidad and Tobago | Gold

The Scarlet Ibis rum was initially produced for exclusive use by the Death & Co bar in New York, and now available in available to the public in limited quantities as supplies last.

This rum is a blend of pot-still rums from Trinidad that were aged 3-5 years in white oak casks. The name is derived from the bright pink Scarlet Ibis bird, which is native to the Caribbean and adorns the bottle.

7.3/10
40 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
1
13
13
4
3

Rate The Scarlet Ibis Gold

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

40 The Scarlet Ibis Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 2 months ago by Alas ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท | 161 ratings

Like a softer old santa teresa before they made the formula sweet. At 59%abv its surprisingly smooth

Posted 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 514 ratings

I thought I'd try a bottle of this and the 12 year due to the 12 year's good reviews. I tried this first, and this is really good! Tastes and smells of oak, molasses, and a light hint of bourbon. I like that it's somewhat sweet, unlike many other bourbon aged rums.

Posted 6 years ago by Jason ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 13 ratings

Parce 8-Year is a nice transition rum for those that are used to drinking whiskey. You will not find it on their website but parce is aged in Jack Daniel's barrels. On the 8 year, this gives it a sweet candied fruit taste. There is enough of the whiskey character left in the taste to remind one of sipping on Jack.
The parce 8-Year is a great starting point for a whiskey drink just starting to explore aged rums. With parce, when they list the rum at 8 years, they mean that the youngest rum in the bottle is 8 years.

Posted 2 months ago by hans ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 13 ratings

I tried this rum side by side with the la hechicera solera, dictador 20y, and a Zacapa 23 and the parce was definitely the most interesting and recognizable rum of them (parce is the first and lightest in the picture, followed by the list above). It is clearly drier and you can smell and taste the oak casks. Spicier than the others, but not burning in any way. Much lighter in color (but the Zacapa 23 cheats with food coloring).

Very interesting rum!

Posted at Hidden Harbor 6 months ago by beeporama (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 54 ratings

Tried side by with the 12 year. Perhaps my palate is not sufficiently discerning, but I found it hard to taste much beyond chocolate, and some bourbon sweetness. I liked it, it's reasonably priced, it's good, a lot of people would enjoy it, I bet it is great in coffee... But I think most rum heads will prefer something else.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ron Tyaon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 16 ratings

Nice combo of light sweetness with an interesting smoky vanilla note from the Jack Daniel's barrels it is aged in. Not the sweet and molasses notes as many aged rums. Smooth finish with cola notes.

Posted 3 years ago by Chet ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 191 ratings

Good rum with hints of dry tobacco, mild cigar, leather, and a touch of dark fruits. Zero sweetness and goes well neat alongside of a pipe. I liked this rum more than the 12 year. Man's rum for sure.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pascal ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 196 ratings

J ai adorรฉ ce rhum, qui en vaut la peine. Il est doux, il goรปte la noisette et le chรชne.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2902 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Ron Parce 8 year old rum with my friend during a 5,000 mile road trip across 18 States. Bottle and label design are just okay, but nothing spectacular. Semi dark mahogany color. A little bit of oak straight to your nose and palate followed with overwhelmingly sweet notes. Mild burn at the end. Very surprisingly the 8y is much better and much more smooth than the 12y. For whisky lovers, add 2 points.

Posted 4 years ago by RumRunner ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 37 ratings

The comments on Parce 8 year-old are love/hate with little in between and I understand why. Sampling rums with good friends, we'd tried a couple of sweeter rums before cracking open the Parce bottle. Tried it on the rocks with little time to breath first. SHOCK. I thought my friends were having some fun and had slipped me a bourbon. Look, I love a good bourbon, but not when I'm expecting rum. This was unpleasantly overpowering, although it is smooth. I could try it another night and enjoy it, but make sure your expecting something closer to Jack than Ron when you try this one.

Posted 5 years ago by Sean ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2 ratings

Very nice on the nose with hints of vanilla. It is an excellent transition spirit for those that traditionally prefer whiskey. The Parce 8 year, aged in whiskey barrels, has a nice character to it that reminds you of sipping a good drink, straight up or on the rocks, in the company of good friends and family. Highly recommended. Love the bottle design as well.




Brand Details

Name: Gold
Company: The Scarlet Ibis
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2902
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514