Background Image
Preload image
Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year rum

Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year

United Kingdom | Aged | 46.2% ABV

6.7/10
94 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
22
45
15
2

Rate Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

94 Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 89 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

46,2% abv
Spicy, burnt coffee, chocolate and chilli on the tongue.
Cherries, raspberry and rotten pineapple on the nose

Domstadtkerl 🇩🇪 | 38 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Nothing spectacular.

Good if you like British style rums. Not exactly my cup of tea, but I can see the potential.

Michal Micko (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 642 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Aroma is light wooden. Taste is complex with combination of wood, earth and fruit. Aftertaste is average and a bit bitter.

boyblueau 🇦🇺 | 59 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

I really enjoyed this rum. It's got so many corners to dig into and chase certain flavours and smells. You can easily taste the Demerara component, and I found the Jamaican funk not hard to find either despite only being 5% of the total rum. The Bajan stuff is harder to determine but probably is the reason the rum feels so well balanced. Gives me blackstrap bitterness and a liquorice tang but also plenty of funky sweetness. Frankly if this is close to what the navy was getting every day it's no wonder it was such a dark day when those rations ended.

Thorsgaard 🇩🇰 | 151 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Duft: karamel, fad, vanilje, lys karamel, let syrlig. Score: 4
Smag: karamel, lakrids, kaffe, peber, vanilje, alkohol. Score: 4

Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) 🇸🇪 | 510 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

This 5yo rum from the Scottish IB Black Tot Rum is a blend of rums from Barbados, Guyana and Jamaica.
The term “Black Tot” comes from, as most of you know, from the British tradition of giving sailors a daily ration of rum for almost 300 years. The last ration was served on July 31th 1970.
In nose it’s having a navy profile with Demerara from Guyana and some funkiness from Jamaica. Recognizable aromas is exotic fruits, banana, resin, prunes, caramel, oak and dark chocolate.
In mouth and at the palate it’s fruity, spicy and woody with flavors of vanilla, Demerara sugar, cocoa and chocolate.
The rather long finish is fruity, spicy and woody with flavors of vanilla, chocolate and licorice.
Overall a quite soft navy styled rum.
Picture: My emptied sample with a poured glass.

NzStacy 🇳🇿 | 42 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Not a great rum,certainly not a sipper for me.

No real flavour or character, just a blend that for me is hard to distinguish.

Nice with a mixer, good as a session rum.

andyist 🇨🇦 | 28 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Unfortunately for this rum, I tried it strait after a glass of Appleton Estates 21 year. Two that shouldn't really be compared. In any case, the Black Tot was nothing to write home about, I wasn't so keen on the sharpness which was obviously not apparent with a smoother aged rum. Maybe one to try under different circumstances.

rumrunner 🇺🇸 | 46 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Very interesting and unique but also a little pricey. It’s a robust rum with lots of character with some wood along with fruit and baking spices. Love the navy strength which will help this stand up in any rum cocktail but I think you can find equal and better rums for a little less than this one cost.

Les 80 🇬🇧 | 70 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Good value rum 35 a bottle can't go wrong nice and smooth

bar la moura 🇭🇷 | 169 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

it s a solid rum but the jamaican part is so predominant that you can t recognize other rums (from guyana and barbados ...) it packs a lot of flavor for a 5 years old ...
but i can recognize only jamaican flavors ...
way better than Pussers (also navy rum) because this one is without sugar added
my rating is a 7,4 !




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Black Tot
Country: United Kingdom
Name: Finest Carribean 5-Year
ABV: 46.2%
Years Aged: 5
Raw Material: Molasses
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews