Tanduay Dark rum

Tanduay Dark

Philippines | Aged

4.3/10
25 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
4
4
1
4
1
1
5

Rate Tanduay Dark

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

25 Tanduay Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

RedBlaze6 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I was fortunate enough to get an opportunity to visit the Philippines. While there, I spent my time in the central islands away from the bustle of Manila. As stated by other reviewers, Tanduay Rum is super cheap on the islands and was the go-to liquor for locals. Tanduay Dark, which has a strange hue of reddish orange, is definitely not a smooth sipper. It has a sweetish ethanol smell and could be described as an alcohol flavored rum. Quite harsh all around with a glimmer of sweetness trying to escape the flames of gasoline. The locals created some interesting "cocktails" to cover the burn. One variation that I found enjoyable and memorable was called "Reggae Reggae", a mixture of Nestea Powdered Iced Tea, Calamondin juice (small limes found in Southeast Asia) and an overly generous amount of Tanduay Dark. Although not a top shelf rum, Tanduay will always remind me of that great time when I almost died in the Philippines.

Nicoakr 🇫🇷 | 108 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

The classic rum of the Phikippines. Found almost anywhere for less than $2 a bottle. Can't expect much at this rate. It is drinkable with cola.

Boyett57 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted almost 8 years ago

It's has multi awards in the world
The best of the best in all the rums...

Hospitable drinks 🇳🇱 | 4 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

This Rum is a spicy dark Rum with an amber colour. At first the rum tastes very peppery with a smooth and soft sweet aftertaste. Tanduay Dark is a beautiful dark Rum that stands out in a Rum & Coke or even better Rum & Tastings Gingerale, but can also be enjoyed on the rocks.

Wim Hengelmolen 🇳🇱 | 1 rating
Posted over 6 years ago

The color of this Rhum is reddish dark brown, it's a strong 80% smooth to drink Rhum with a good after taste. I like to drink it on the rocks, pure in the glass with some ice. This rhum is hard but proven good, no problems in the morning. It can compete easily with the great names like Bacardi Rhum, I appreciate its taste even more. it's alcohol content is much higher and very affordable.

Marsellus1 🇨🇦 | 3 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

This version is Tanduay is their 'basic' rum...a 750ml bottle locally in the Philippines costs less than $2...hence, everyone drinks it....locals prefer to sip and chase with Coke...not a connoiseur's dream as its 80Proof will only let you have so much before your body signals warnings...nonetheless, a classic rum in its own right...

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2994 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Rum tasting in LA continues onwards with Tanduay Dark. Poor quality bottle and label design. Not sure the Philippines is the most advanced rum producer. Golden color. Harsh oak and plenty of unaged alcohol to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Harsh even when mixed with your favorite fizzy drinks.

marekfiser 🇨🇿 | 120 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Now the good news, I still don't see any real improvement at most of 10000% more expensive Don Papa rums.

Treblajz 🇨🇿 | 23 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Aroma: alkohol, jablka, broskve
Chuť: alkohol, hořké mandle, zvláštní pachuť.
Dovezeno z Filipín za cca 26kč za láhev, takže ok :D

jepoycat 🇵🇭 | 31 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

I mean, it's nice as a mixer with coke. But neat or on the rocks, a cloying acetone note will persist in the finish. Not the finish that you want. But at 2 dollars a bottle, you get what you pay for.