Takamaka Bay St Andre 8-Year rum

Takamaka Bay St Andre 8-Year

Seychelles | Aged

6.0/10
40 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
10
15
9
4

Rate Takamaka Bay St Andre 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

40 Takamaka Bay St Andre 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Mephisto 🇩🇪 | 39 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Nice smell with sweetness and oriental spices. The taste is weak and boring. Also quite strong alcoholic taste for 40 Vol.%.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 344 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Had only a sample so this is just a first impression, but I don’t think I will come back to it.
It’s a quite young distillery. The company was formed 2002 and started the export in small scales 2013 at first.
They use sugar cane from the farmers on the island. The sugar cane is crushed to get the cane juice which is distilled in both column and pot stills, but they don’t call it Agricole cause they say their methods is different from how they do it in the French Antilles. The aging is done in various previously used American oak barrels for 8 years whereafter it’s blended. There’s also some unconfirmed data that they also use rum not produced on the island in the blend.
I think that the best thing about this rum is the aroma which is very nice, in the mouth it is then quite bland but it’s easy to drink.
Recognizeable aromas and flavors is vanilla, marmalade, oak and notes of spices.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Harald 🇩🇪 | 37 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Trois Frères Distillery
La Plaine St. André, Mahé
Takamaka
St. André
Aged 8 Years
40%

Country of origin: Seychelles

Color: Old Gold

Nose:
Faint and sweet with aromas of raisins and caramel. Furthermore there are notes of sandalwood and cider vinegar.

Palate:
Mild, light and almost tasteless. With quite some efforts I manage to taste toffee, oak and vanilla. Furthermore this rum is a little spicy (white pepper, jalapeños).

Finish:
Medium long, dry and slightly spicy.

Summary:
I love to remember my vacation on the Seychelles ... but this rum leaves a lot to be desired. At least it appears that there was not much sugar added.

Anthony C 🇺🇸 | 205 ratings
Posted 25 days ago

Overall an easy rum. Aroma gives away the light and somewhat faint tastes. Finishes short and light. Little oak, little sugar, over all dry.

Jason 🇺🇸 | 137 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Decent rum. The nose has some grassiness notes with some oakiness. The taste is dry with similar notes and vanilla. Minimal burn on the finish. Overall pretty solid. I wouldn’t hesitate too much to drink this neat on a weekend night with a good cigar.

Dhelliwell (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 55 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

I am not a big fan of the lighter rums. This one was OK. Not a lot of flavor but the flavor that did exist was alright. Sweetness was pretty balanced.

Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 89 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Not my favourite. Bland taste, alcohol, some citrus.

Wahlman 🇸🇪 | 48 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Den luktade mer än den smakade, inget speciellt med den.
kommer nog inte köpa den igen.

Hedlund 🇸🇪 | 22 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Helt menlös. Glömt den redan. Enkel att dricka men inget speciellt.

F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k 🇸🇪 | 31 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Inte dålig smak men lite vattnig nästan. Inte så mycket smak

Joosef 🇨🇭 | 12 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Feiner, leichter Taste; sehr angenehm im abgang; leicht süss;




Brand Details

Name: St Andre 8-Year
Company: Takamaka Bay
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading