Barbancourt 3 Star 4-Year rum

Barbancourt 3 Star 4-Year

Haiti | Gold

4.9/10
55 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
5
10
13
9
10
2
1

Rate Barbancourt 3 Star 4-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

55 Barbancourt 3 Star 4-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Ronald Broers ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 17 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

No fan of the "agricole", but the scharp taste makes it suitable for mixing

Ricardo Knight ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

I picked up a few of these bottles when iI was in Haiti a few years ago and forgot about them in the back of my bar, I did not miss much. The initial nose is a little flat, and too much burn to smell anything else. If you try hard you will find some tobacco, leather and vanilla. The initial tase was sugary but gave away to bitter and burn too soon, it finished up with some sugar cane. As a sipper it did not cut the mustard, but it was fine in a mix drink.

can ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted over 4 years ago

I Remember all my memories were good with this drink. a 3 star Rhum I would not miss but the 5 stars is a thing to miss. my haitian friends first offered me this drink at their house in Boston, when I was 19. a non drinking age for that state. when I go to liquer store checkin out all the good beers I must say this rhum calls me like Jumanji. $23.although I drink red label and as I age I can drink hard liquer, 4 star haitian rhum is always has a character and my drink of choise in rhum on the rocks.... ฤฑ prefer bacardi and fresh coconal make the juie myself to make pina colada. u will understand when u go to a caribbian party with the food..everybody drinks Rhum barbancourt and prefered beer. it is a cultural summer drink. for the price it is a fun original bottle always in my basket.

RumGuy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 23 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

This is a nice rhum. I will admit it is my first agricole but I can't say there is anything bad or offensive about it as others seem to.
The nose is alcohol, no doubt about that, but its a young, light, agricole so can I pretend to be surprised? no.
Palate is nice and has complexity and development. It drinks almost like a whisky, initially soft and round with some light caramel notes as well as a bit of brown sugar. There is also a kind of hard to place sharp-sweet flavor going on, kind of a super light funky sugar cane taste on the mid-palate. Finish and aftertaste leaves this little (tiny) funk and sugarcane as well as a slow and subtle burn which is actually quite nice.
Overall, it's a fine rum, seems to be a nice intro into the style and the region. It's not mind-blowing but it is what it is. I wouldn't seek it out to sip unless youre really a connoisseur of the style but I do think it's very nice as a one-time sip and a mixer for tiki or craft cocktails. Wouldn't put it in a cuba libre or anything like that... it isn't THAT bad.

EDIT: After trying other agricoles this is the most subtle. Honestly not a good representative of the style but decent in its own right.

Niklas ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 69 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Luktar konstigt, smakar konstigt, ok eftersmak. Blanda om du mรฅste dricka

piratejabez ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 324 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

43% ABV. Pot still. Cane juice. Nose: Hint of creamed corn. A good amount of brine. Some oak. A savory note I can't place. Hint of something medicinal. Caramel underpinning it all. Fairly creamy. If you breathe really deeply, some alcohol. Many of the same notes follow on the palate. Shortish finish.

I was fairly impressed by this one. It's quite good! I truly can't understand the low rating (5.2 at time of writing). Are people expecting a rich, creamy, sugar-and-vanilla delivery mechanism? That's not what this is trying to be. And certainly, in my opinion, it punches above its weight. Barbancourt 3* is an excellent, affordable, and widely available introduction to agricole-style rums.

7+, 8-

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 245 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Definitely not as complex and tasty as the 5 Stars but deserving a higher average rating than 5.0 at the time of my tasting. For those who prefer sweet rums, this is NOT for you. I, however, like my rums neat and dry and this fits the bill. Some refer to the taste of Barbancourt 4 yr rum as being somewhat reminiscent of Brandy or Cognac, neither of which I am familiar with. I rather enjoy this rum as it is also different than most I am familiar with. Now, if I could only get my hands of their 15 yr version!

Joseph Blossman ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 40 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

This is one of those bottles that I'm glad to say I have had and will never get again.

Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2928 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

What a disappointment the Barbancourt 4 year old rum. I have tried over 700 aged rums over the past 15 years and this is amongst the worst of them all. This is rat poison disguised as an "aged" rum!

The top 10 worst rums I have ever tried:
1. Barbancourt 4y / 8y / 15y
2. Bounty Dark Rum from Fiji
3. Stroh 40 / 80
4. Plantation Pineapple Stiggin's Fancy
5. Villa Rica 23y
6. Mocambo 15y / 20y
7. Captain Morgan different variations
8. Don Papa 10y / 15y
9. Bacardi flavored "rums", all of them
10. Kraken rums

Hector ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 62 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I made the huge mistake of listening to the clerk at my local liquour store who adviced me to buy this... my god what do they make this with? is like pure rubbing alcohol. I had one zip and left the bottle almost full on the bottom shelf of my minibar as decoration. Never again.

Tjack ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 20 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

This is my favorite Rum! Dry agricole rum made from sugarcane juice not molasses in Haiti. Bright flavor, not too fancy just good rum. True pirate Rum with it's simple old school bottle and label. Smooth with a little bite, I like to drink it straight out of the bottle, arrrrrrr. Clean liquor never a headache from this stuff.




Brand Details

Name: 3 Star 4-Year
Company: Barbancourt
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 4

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading