Sunset Captain Bligh XO rum

Sunset Captain Bligh XO

Saint Vincent And The Grenedines | Gold | 40.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

Captain Blight XO rum is made from fermented molasses that's imported from Guyana. It's aged for up to 10 years in ex-Bourbon casks.

Captain Blight XO rum in made on the foothills of La Soufriere Volcano in St Vincent and fermented molasses that's imported from Guyana. It's distilled in 2-column stills, and then aged for up to 10 years in ex-Bourbon casks.

Captain Bligh XO rum is named after the British Royal Navy officer William Bligh, known for a famous mutiny that took place in Tahiti in 1789. After been set adrift by his crew, Blight navigated a small boat on a 2 year voyage to Britain and reported the mutiny to Admiralty.

7.2/10
24 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
12
6
3

Rate Sunset Captain Bligh XO

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

24 Sunset Captain Bligh XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Rumtastic 🇬🇧 | 20 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Nose: Well, really very good indeed. Quite big, intense and pungent. There is plenty of cut oak (good old small white oak casks!), vanilla, honey, brown sugar, light caramels and almost a fat corn note. It’s quite bourbon’esc. Very spirit’y and solvent’y with some sort of polish or nail varnish about it. Underneath the big smells there are some dusty spices, turmeric, garam masala, lots of dried papaya and fresh mango. Going even deeper you’ll find some hay and over ripe, black and mushy banana.

Palate: Quite full but light at the same time, if that makes sense. Initial sweetness but very fresh, lots of vanilla and honey…yeah bourbon! Gets dry. Not so much oak at the start but the longer you hold it in you mouth the spicier it gets with plenty of ginger root/power, cinnamon and black pepper. It’s really quite Bajan in a way. There is a fragrant flavour to this that I can’t quite pin down, it’s a little like Turkish Delight and slightly grassy. Ah, vanilla again and honey then on to some tropical fruits.

Finish: Grrrr, a bit too short really. It hangs around for a bit to make you think you’re getting a nice long finish and just as you’re getting excited it stops dead, which is a shame as it’s lovely. Dry. Thick corn oil, some banana, light honey and a touch of menthol. No bitterness at all. When the finish does, er….finish, it floats off suddenly and doesn’t leave any buzz or off notes.

More here:
https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/06/20/sunset-captain-bligh-xo/

Charles M 🇬🇧 | 140 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

I am a great fan of this rum. Initially I was put off by a screw cap, but that obviously doesn't affect the contents. The nose is relatively light with hints of oak and vanilla - pencil shavings. On the palate, the fruit is weightier and the oak and vanilla carries through but there is a good hit of alcohol. Being truthful there is a merest hint of a rough edge, but it is appealing none the less and very much adds to the character and is soon forgotten, although it does help add to the length of the oaky finish. A very, very nice easy rum. Well priced as well. Definitely worth a try if you haven't had it before.

Edit - I have a couple of bottles in the rack at the moment, and both have gone hazy. I must confess to not knowing whether chill-filtration takes place as it does with whisky, but presume that having been bottled at 40% this is the reason for the haze. Not that it afffects the taste, just the appearance and I can look past that.

thefatrumpirate 🇬🇧 | 121 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This is very similar to Bajan rum's such as Foursquare and Mount Gay.

This is the most aromatic appealing rum I have ever sipped. The flavour isn't bad. It seems to add a little extra twist to the already fantastic Bajan rum experience.

A fantastic rum at under £30!

Harrie 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Captain Bligh XO tastes a bit like a marriage between Bajan rum and Chairman's Reserve, both rums that I like. The nose gives a clear presence of alcohol, some vanilla, spiced caramel and oak. On the palate the rum is very dry despite its sweet fruity flavour and there is a strong peppery oak present from start to finish. The alcohol is also very present (despite just 40% ABV), making it a bit fiery but never harsh or burning. It is good stuff no doubt but I would expect more complexity at this pricepoint; lots of tastes in here but no layers and the taste hardly changes from the first sip to the last bit of taste in the medium long finish. At €35 I do demand more from a rum but it is no punishment drinking this, it is really nice.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 332 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

This one has been on my wishlist for a long time after a sample test long ago and now I finally got me some bottles.
It doesn’t disappoint this time either, I really like it.
It has very nice flavour and it’s dry, fruity and oaky in mouth. The afterburn is also nice and quite long.
There are definitely similarities with Bajan rums as I saw somebody else had written.
A very nice rum to a very competitive price!

Terence 🇲🇾 | 56 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Interesting flavor on the nose. Aroma of buttery banana bread/ cake with milk chocolate, toffee and sweet spice (vanilla). Light woody aroma towards to end. Didn't expect such flavorful aroma on the nose.
Fruity pineapple tart with butter crust yet it's dry on palate. Accompany with flambe banana, vanilla syrup and toasted wood flavor.
Light and short finishing which I find it a let down, yet savory and dry.

Kieron wood 🇬🇧 | 577 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

A nice rum that has delicate flavours of vanilla and rum ... A decent product but quite right around the edges ... Still a nice sipper mixer rum

Peter Kalnai 🇨🇿 | 34 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Beautiful taste for a very friendly price. It's definitely not very sweet, but a little smoky instead (if that's the right adjective). Anyway, this is a perfect choice if you spent a few sleepless nights dedicated to work and you like to release yourself.

Glen 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

A lot of skill and effort went into this and it taste great. Recommended as a supper, maybe a really fancy cocktail.

Fireonerum 🇬🇧 | 2 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Drank a fair bit of this in 2019 in Barbados. Really enjoyed it. Not too much of a burn and just the right amount of sweetness. Have a bottle that a brought back with me and it’s always a go to when the sun is shining.

mmciesielski 🇺🇸 | 22 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Bought at St Vincent airport duty free for $19, well worth that price. Been drinking it on a cube of ice. Good balance, not super complex, but easy to drink.




Brand Details

Name: Captain Bligh XO
Company: Sunset
Type: Gold
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
ABV: 40.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading