Stroh Original 80 rum

Stroh Original 80

Austria | Flavored

3.1/10
134 ratings
Serious improvement needed
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
28
33
16
22
18
6
3
5
2
1

Rate Stroh Original 80

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

134 Stroh Original 80 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Kevin 🇺🇸 | 35 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Had this years ago but my lasting memory is mixing it with coke. It tasted like butterscotch coke.

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Stroh 160 Tasting Notes:

Aroma: Used bowling shoes. Fresh horse urine. Burned Christmas ornaments.

Taste: Charcoal briquette lighter fluid. Plutonium-90. Soil. Toffee.

Finish: You're kidding, right?

Golfm 🇩🇰 | 154 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Rum or not - that is the question. But it burns all the way down..

Threepwood 🇬🇧 | 87 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

As others have mentioned, it's hard to even label this as a rum. It's an overproof alcohol with some mix of flavours going on, but any taste is almost immediately lost to the inevitable burning of cheap alcohol. Avoid.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Is it or isn't it a rum? Debatable. One source says it's made from "sugar cane by-products" (whatever that is) and another source says it's made from sugar beets.

Before I share my views on this...er..."rum"...let me explain that I am also a chili-head. That is, I love hot sauces. However I know my limits. You're not going to ever see me eat a Carolina Reaper pepper....ever...nor slather on a lot of hot sauce made from the Carolina Reaper pepper, the hottest pepper on the planet reaching as high as a little over 2 million Scoville units (for comparison, the typical jalapeno ranges from a mere 2,500 to 10,000 Scoville units).

Well it's the same for rum...especially this "rum"...or whatever you want to call it. At 160 proof it's double the ABV of typical rums. In fact, the neck label on my bottle reads, "CAUTION FLAMMABLE".

The aroma in the bottle hints of vanilla extract and maybe caramel. The lower label on my bottle reads, "Rum with artificial flavor, certified colors (FD&C yellow #6, FD&C Red #40, FD&C blue #1 and FD&C yellow #5" so it is possible they used some sort of vanilla extract or artificial caramel flavoring. The color is sort of a dirty orange reminding me of some bad cough medicine my mother gave me...uh...forced down my throat when I was a kid.

On the tongue...uh...my tongue got somewhat numb sampling it straight. I THINK I detected some vanilla and sweetness but I can't be sure. However I think it removed a layer of tissue down my throat. I shudder to think what my stomach lining is going through.

I have had worse rums than this but I have had more better rums. Frankly, this Austian-based "rum" is way overpriced. I wanted to try a bottle since I have read a lot about it so my curiosity got the better of me.

DEFINITELY NOT A SIPPING RUM!!!

No duh!

I do plan on trying some...a small amount...in some Coke Zero sometime...not tonight...and perhaps also with some orange juice to see if that helps.

Andi 🇩🇪 | 69 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Stroh Rum eignet sich eigentlich nur für Heissgetränke.

Daniel Flamaropol 🇷🇴 | 25 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

It's hard to review this as if it was actual rum, because it's arguably not. It does taste great with coke and can drink you under the table if you're not careful. Works amazing with hot drinks, hot chocolate or tea and it's great at low temperatures.

Not something you'd drink in a club or on a sunny terrace.

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 254 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Fullbodied fruity nose with notes of rum essence. The palette is very powerfull and brings emense heat, but you can sense a few fruity, barrel, rum notes underneath the burn. It's better then the 60%vol stroh, but still the dominant flavou seems to be rum essence. Should be reserved for hot cocoa after a day on the slopes.

Piotr 🇵🇱 | 45 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Yes, yes... it's Austrian not Carribean, it's waaaay overproof, it's not even "real rum" as some say, but still... it has quite nice aroma imho when mixed with cola, and when mixed 1:1 it has a surprising smoothness given it still keeps then a robust 40% on board! Thus a perfect drink if you want to feel a pleasant effect quick and without consuming volumes. Not to be sipped or drank straight quite obviously, unless you are a robocop... or a Polish student :)

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 324 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Lowered a few bottles of this very strong Austrian rum when I was on a skiing holiday in Kitzbuhl, Austria as a teenager.
It falls into the same category as the Thai varieties Mehkong and SangSom, ie party, party, party without caring about what you drink.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 371 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Bought a bottle once Rum from Austria how unique. Would only break it out to get old friends HAMMERED. I do remember butterscotch notes with 100 octane gasoline. Guess it’s cold in Austria or they just like to hurt themselves. I guess we finally finished the bottle.




Brand Details

Name: Original 80
Company: Stroh
Type: Flavored
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Articles

Loading

Loading

Loading