Lyon Dark rum

Lyon Dark

United States | Dark

Lyon Dark rum, a version of the same base used in their White Rum thatโ€™s colored with spirit caramel and bottled unaged at 90 proof.

via American Rum Report
6.5/10
12 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
4
3

Rate Lyon Dark

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

12 Lyon Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 11 months ago by Alas ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท | 161 ratings

Toffee notes on nose, really great smell, leans towards agricole taste and finish. If you like agricoles youโ€™ll love this one, itโ€™s like Clement made a caramel expression

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 426 ratings

I finally got up the courage to buy a bottle of this one. It is from a craft distiller in Maryland. This rum is like no other that I have tried. The main source is equal parts black strap molasses and evaporated cane juice, with most of their source materials coming from Louisiana. This is then twice distilled in a few 26 gallon pot stills. It is unaged and colored with spirit caramel before being bottled at 90 proof.

There is very little burn on it and the aroma and taste of the agricole portion come through for me. I know of no other rum that tastes like this one. This team had the goal of creating a very unique rum and they have easily exceeded that.

This rum also complements ginger ale in a perfect way. I used 2 parts of this rum to 5 parts of ginger ale. Another way of putting it, use one 7.5 can of ginger ale to 3 ounces of Lyon Dark Rum and lots of ice. As for mixing this rum with cola, that did not appeal to me at all. This rum is best served on the rocks or with ginger ale.

Posted 8 months ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 65 ratings

My journey has mainly on the more expensive rums. This one is worth it. Creamy honey almonds with a soft bite. Obviously not dry. Great nose. Wonderful fat aftertaste. Nough said.

Posted 8 months ago by Dhelliwell (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 41 ratings

Strange flavors that were not for me. I did not finish the sample.

Posted 11 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 514 ratings

I got this rum as one of the Rum Ratings Club tastings.

It is a lot better than I expected for a bottle price of just $41.99. Nicely sweet at 45%abv. Smells and tastes of maple, sweet molasses, smoke, spice, and oak. Very well done!

Posted 11 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 362 ratings

Quite a surprise from my last tasting kit of Mexican rums. For a young rum I believe less than 1 year, unique sweet molasses note but mild burn and not to sweet like maple syrup rums. One of the best USA rums I have had to date. Well done and decent value in the $35-$40 range.

Posted 1 month ago by Hanreb1 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 16 ratings

This rum is much too sweet and lacks complexity. It mixes with cola and ginger beer for an adequate cocktail.

Posted 1 month ago by Wowbagger44 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 16 ratings

Sweet with strong carmel and licorice notes. Has a lot of body and it lingers in the mouth for a long time. Perfect sipper neat or on ice with a splash of lemon.

Posted 2 months ago by MDrumrunner ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 19 ratings

Definitely like this one. Toffee and honey were standouts on the nose for me. Those transfer to the taste but I also get Vanilla and coffee notes. Glad I picked this one up.

Posted 8 months ago by Jason ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 112 ratings

Beautiful caramel color. The nose is sweet with fruit, spice, and a hint of oak. The flavor isnโ€™t too far off from the nose. The after taste is very sweet. Not one that Iโ€™d keep on hand.

Posted 9 months ago by Rick (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 50 ratings

Starts off very sweet, but then finishes with a bitter dry aftertaste. Not for me.




Brand Details

Name: Dark
Company: Lyon
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2923
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514