Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Marquesas Blend rum

Papas Pilar Marquesas Blend

United States | Dark

8.6/10
24 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
12
4

Rate Papas Pilar Marquesas Blend

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

24 Papas Pilar Marquesas Blend ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Anthony C from United States with 161 ratings

What a smooth rum for being aged in whiskey barrels. Full of flavor, very little whiskey; just enough to let you know where it came from . Great from the freezer., and with an easy cigar.

Posted 12 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 79 ratings

By the devil's twisted tail, this be a fine rum! She smells sweet, like brown sugar, but not TOO sweet, with a hint of vanilla, oak, spices, and something roasty hidin' just below deck. As taste goes, the sweet brown sugar comes aboard with a pepperiness that builds. There be a slight burn goin' down the hatch that lingers for a while. Fine for those cold nights on deck. There be a hint of vanilla, oak, and citrus, and long after, what tastes like raisins. Raisins be nature's candy, but this be PIRATE'S candy! Aye, curse me with everlastin' tormentors if I be lyin'! This be a smooth, tasty rum. Hide this one, captains. Save it for yourself... or any ladies you might be entertainin'. Arrgh!!

Posted 8 months ago by gypsysb from United States with 23 ratings

Flavor profile expands into a burnt sugar-creme brûlée finish. Smooth. Tops my
List.

Posted over 1 year ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 48 ratings

My go to rums are usually anything from Foursquare. I have not found anything quite to my liking as a Foursquare. However, once I opened this bottle, I knew I found something new I would enjoy. The smell of this rum was not off-putting with alcohol smell or sugar. This rum is very smooth although it is barrel aged, which is hard to find. No kick to it at all. There is a hint of vanilla flavor and maybe a buttery sweet flavor followed. I'm not sure exactly what this is, but I will be buying again as it was only about $45.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B from United States with 420 ratings

After having been very disappointed with their blonde and dark rum blends, I had basically written this company off. However, the description of this Marquesas Blend really intrigued me. I saw it on the shelf as being hand selected from barrel 27 by the owner of my favorite liquor store. It was then a no brainer to buy it.

A very unique aroma greeted me when opened. Then I realize that this is from the aging in port wine and sherry casks. It was finished in whiskey casks, but I don't notice any of the heavy wood flavoring. It is truly one harmonious blend. I will start out with my rating of a high 7 and it may climb higher. This one is very unique indeed.

Posted over 1 year ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 26 ratings

I saw this one and just had to have it. I love the Papas Pilar dark rums and the various special editions are simply fantastic. This one is my favorite yet. All that wonderful Papas Pilar taste, with just a bit more refinement. This one is a solid 9 EDIT: I upped the rating to 10, it's fantastic stuff and as good as anything else 10 rated. I'm savoring the bottle as it's no longer in stock locally. I'm not at all sure I can tell it's been finished in whiskey casks, I don't notice a whiskey taste to it what so ever. However, it is just more smooth than other Papas Pilar darks, and that makes it an absolute winner. The taste just lingers and there is no bad aftertaste. Delightful !!!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 200 ratings

I have always enjoyed the Papas Pillar selection and this was no exception. One can taste the different casks of sherry and port. There was a bit of an after-burn, but nothing too over powering where you would want to mix it.

Posted 3 months ago by David Sauter (PREMIUM) from United States with 7 ratings

A fine surprise. Bold and smooth. Right up there with Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Posted 3 months ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 64 ratings

My journey has mainly been on the more expensive rums. This is my third Papa, and my favorite. Has that nice middle and end complexity to make me ponder. Generally Papa too sweet for me but this one is the best so far.

Posted 5 months ago by Tigersense from United States with 1 rating

My favorite rum that I can afford. I never would use it as a mixer.

Posted 8 months ago by Les conn from United States with 8 ratings

I have to say I am a fan of all the Papa Pilar rums. Each is unique in its own way and I like them all. If you’re looking for a nice easy sipping rum, give Papa a try.