Background Image
Preload image
Papas Pilar Marquesas Blend rum

Papas Pilar Marquesas Blend

United States | Dark

8.4/10
33 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
10
14
5

Rate Papas Pilar Marquesas Blend

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

33 Papas Pilar Marquesas Blend Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Snookonthefly ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Thought success would be based more on marketing and the whole Hemingway nod.
Though a bit sweet and over extracted, I enjoyed the glass I had and wouldnโ€™t mind another.
Cheers to Papa!

CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 93 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

By the devil's twisted tail, this be a fine rum! She smells sweet, like brown sugar, but not TOO sweet, with a hint of vanilla, oak, spices, and something roasty hidin' just below deck. As taste goes, the sweet brown sugar comes aboard with a pepperiness that builds. There be a slight burn goin' down the hatch that lingers for a while. Fine for those cold nights on deck. There be a hint of vanilla, oak, and citrus, and long after, what tastes like raisins. Raisins be nature's candy, but this be PIRATE'S candy! Aye, curse me with everlastin' tormentors if I be lyin'! This be a smooth, tasty rum. Hide this one, captains. Save it for yourself... or any ladies you might be entertainin'. Arrgh!!

Earl Elliott ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 236 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Sugar: Estimated at 28 GPL. The original Pilar is famous for it's Maple syrup flavour but in this version the Maple is gone. This is an interesting blend of rums from Florida, Barbados, Venezuela, Panama, and Dominican Republic. Sweet aromas of brown sugar, caramel, vanilla and a touch of oak. Those aromas transfer to the taste profile and there is a bit of spice and burn from the 44% ABV this rum is bottled at. It's got a small burn on the tongue and a nice long warmth afterward. The bourbon-whiskey is most prominent in the taste as it overpowers the port and sherry casks that give this rum the sweetness and smoothness. This is the Ying to the Yang of the original Pilar.

gypsysb ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 22 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Flavor profile expands into a burnt sugar-creme brรปlรฉe finish. Smooth. Tops my
List.

Ngordon87 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 48 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

My go to rums are usually anything from Foursquare. I have not found anything quite to my liking as a Foursquare. However, once I opened this bottle, I knew I found something new I would enjoy. The smell of this rum was not off-putting with alcohol smell or sugar. This rum is very smooth although it is barrel aged, which is hard to find. No kick to it at all. There is a hint of vanilla flavor and maybe a buttery sweet flavor followed. I'm not sure exactly what this is, but I will be buying again as it was only about $45.

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 471 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

After having been very disappointed with their blonde and dark rum blends, I had basically written this company off. However, the description of this Marquesas Blend really intrigued me. I saw it on the shelf as being hand selected from barrel 27 by the owner of my favorite liquor store. It was then a no brainer to buy it.

A very unique aroma greeted me when opened. Then I realize that this is from the aging in port wine and sherry casks. It was finished in whiskey casks, but I don't notice any of the heavy wood flavoring. It is truly one harmonious blend. I will start out with my rating of a high 7 and it may climb higher. This one is very unique indeed.

Franklin Fraitus ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 27 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

I saw this one and just had to have it. I love the Papas Pilar dark rums and the various special editions are simply fantastic. This one is my favorite yet. All that wonderful Papas Pilar taste, with just a bit more refinement. This one is a solid 9 EDIT: I upped the rating to 10, it's fantastic stuff and as good as anything else 10 rated. I'm savoring the bottle as it's no longer in stock locally. I'm not at all sure I can tell it's been finished in whiskey casks, I don't notice a whiskey taste to it what so ever. However, it is just more smooth than other Papas Pilar darks, and that makes it an absolute winner. The taste just lingers and there is no bad aftertaste. Delightful !!!

Mo McGurk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 253 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

I have always enjoyed the Papas Pillar selection and this was no exception. One can taste the different casks of sherry and port. There was a bit of an after-burn, but nothing too over powering where you would want to mix it.

Captain_Tyson ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 99 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

This is one of those rums where if someone asks you, what should I try to get into rum, this. Brown sugar notes. Aromatic. Can drink straight easily. Also, makes a damn good rum Old fashion.

David Sauter (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 9 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

A fine surprise. Bold and smooth. Right up there with Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 79 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

My journey has mainly been on the more expensive rums. This is my third Papa, and my favorite. Has that nice middle and end complexity to make me ponder. Generally Papa too sweet for me but this one is the best so far.




Brand Details

Type: Dark
Company: Papas Pilar
Country: United States
Name: Marquesas Blend
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No