Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Saint James Royal Ambre 18-Mois rum

Saint James Royal Ambre 18-Mois

Martinique | Agricole | 40% ABV | Column Still (1-4)

5.3/10
127 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
7
15
19
39
22
7
2
3

Rate Saint James Royal Ambre 18-Mois

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

127 Saint James Royal Ambre 18-Mois Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Nicolas Dufort 🇨🇦 | 19 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Rhum agricole de base bon rapport qualité/prix un peu sec mais se voit bien pour débuter la soirée

KaemonAwa 🇨🇿 | 49 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

This rum comes with the standart rectangular bottle, nicely done, nothing too fancy yet still very stylish in my opinion. The producer states it is aged up to 24 months and contains 45% vol.

The colour is amber (it is no surprise), not too dark but still quite full, doesn't just leave an impression of coloured water. In a glass, it has very clean structure, when I twirl or tilt the glass, I can see thick legs slooowly running down but leaving a visible trace.

The aroma starts with general sweet grassy and cane feel. I swear I could also smell something reminiscent of a certain flowers, can't say which ones. After that, notes of honey and vanilla appear here and there, burnt sugar and if you try really hard, you can catch a small moment of oaky undertone, really minor in comparison to Saint James 12 y. o.'s which really smells of wood and leather. I really recommend to let this breath in the glass, the aroma spreads and it is very pleasant, unless you literally stick your nose half an inch above the glass and inhale as hard as you can, in which case you smell some alcohol traces, too.

The taste in the mouth starts with quite strong burn followed by spices, vanilla, slightly sweet taste finishing with heavier wooden taste, perhaps even some nuts. This spreads into your nose. The finish and afterburn is quite agressive, quite short and not really too memorable, rather uninteresting and perhaps bit dissapointing, do not like the taste in the throat but I guess it is a debt to be paid for the interesting and enjoyable smell and aroma.

In a cocktail this is an absolute blast, it is good rum to sip too, but not for everyone, and there really are better rums to sip. I would say you cannot go wrong with this, but it isn't the best bottle for really special occasions or nice afternoon with your beloved lady, might be too harsh for her.

rhum boogie 🇬🇧 | 30 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

A very smooth aged agricole, very much more mellow than it's white cousins, worth having on the self.

manah 🇮🇱 | 15 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Goog rum.
It's one of my favorites. Sure, I drank it more, than others.
Good taste and good aftertaste.

LUKAŽIGA 🇸🇮 | 147 ratings
Posted 24 days ago

7,6:On the nose, we can find typical Martinique agricole, with apricot, raspberries notes, volcanique identity is strong. It is very fresh, notes of sugar cane are omnipresent, freshly mowned grass is very pleasant, flowers like geranium smell nice, certainly there is wood and spices like pepper, even some of them are sweet-vanilla...lastly dried fruits.
7,7:On the palate freshness is continuous, it is pretty smooth, notes of spices arise, like cinnamon, vanilla. Raspberries and apricots are zest. Sugar cane is very juicy and syrupy. Volcanique notes are unmistakable from Martinique, strong.
7,4:The finish is long and finish, soft, fruity, volcanique, syrupy and quite dry.

CK 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Tried it in a Ti Punch. Not too bad, not a lot of good Agricole "fun" to it like a Clarin has, but was adequate. Pretty basic but fine if nothing else available.

Riccardo Ranzo 🇮🇹 | 28 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Saint James is the most famous rhum agricole brand, so this bottle can be considered one the most iconic rums of this type (at least if you’re a beginner). The nose shows a sugarcane sweetness, while the mouth is mostly grassly, with little sweetness. The best part is the aftertaste, very fruity. It surely isn’t the best agricole in the world, but it’s a must if you’re a beginner in this type of rum, since it shows all the typical characteristics of a a martinican agricole rhum

MaartenVL 🇧🇪 | 33 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Safe rum for the safe drinker. Nothing special. I drunk it in Italy after overeating myself in a fishrestaurant. Does the trick.

El Cap 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

It’s not on par with some of the agricoles out there, but it’s inexpensive and fantastic to have around to mix with other rums in a mai tai, or to have in a simple ‘Ti Punch

Ovret 🇫🇮 | 7 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Nice square bottle with details
Dark shade liquid
Distinctive harsh odor
Punching beginning
Oak warming mid taste
Lenghty after taste, oak

Nicoakr 🇫🇷 | 115 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

The taste of Martinique but not quite the standing




Brand Details

Type: Agricole
Company: Saint James
Country: Martinique
ABV: 40%
Name: Royal Ambre 18-Mois
Raw Material: Cane Juice
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Luxurious Drinks
2. Luxurious Drinks
Loading...