Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.7/10
251 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
7
10
16
56
86
52
13
5

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

251 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Goldtyger 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Nice rum the bottle is exotic to serve in a party but if you are looking for the best move on

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 506 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

This was my morning email and I realized it’s a rum I never tried, even though I’m not a Haitian rum fan. First I didn’t like the scent lots of alcohol on the nose, then color is a light yellow gold color, lighter than I like. Now tasting neat, smoke, very little sweet, some fruit funk, and just a warming burn that doesn’t go away. Kind of medicinal, or what you might want trapped outside in a snow storm. Not finding this mildly redeeming. I’ll try it again after having to rub dust off the bottle. Don’t even think I can finish my initial tasting. Can only come up with a 5, almost went 4.

jackw625 🇺🇸 | 37 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Very flavor full sipping rum. Subtle aroma for the alcohol content

Handsome Alex 🇺🇸 | 91 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

I don't usually like agricoles as they have a more "green" taste. This tastes more like a traditional Caribbean rum to me with a Light sweetness on the nose, like a caramel apple. A smooth but full mouth feel with a clean and crisp flavor of apple or pear followed by the oak and caramel sweetness left behind with just a little heat. A single ice cube brings out the fruity nature on the nose, but simplified the flavor. Not getting as much of the caramel notes left behind. I think I'd prefer this one neat.

Mujuru 🇺🇸 | 153 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I wanted to like this. The smell is nice with vanilla notes and slight citrus. The first taste is immediate spice and alcohol. There seems like maybe there are some citrus undertones there but really the alcohol just overwhelms everything. The burn lingers and overtakes the aftertaste to where I get nothing but heat. That’s unfortunate. Hopefully I can find a good agricole that isn’t overwhelmed by the alcohol burn.

Nose: 7
Palate: 4
Aftertaste: 5
Smoothness: 4
Versatility: 7
Price: 4

Total: 5.1

abrarey 🇺🇸 | 68 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

This one i can recommend to anyone. is good for sipping and mixing.
Wood flavor is perceived and some flavor notes that for some reason reminds me a brandy.
Herbal after taste which i find very pleasant.
Good price.

Phil 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Just a nice rum at a very good price. Not too harsh, just a good rum for shots or sipping. Best value I’ve found!

Engwild 🇺🇸 | 153 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Wrong, noooop, this could be better. Come on now, just say no.

Aiden 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Barbancourt 8 Yr is the rum that made me realize I didn't like agricoles. I call it the Ocitamolpid (reverse Diplomatico) because it is too dry. Too woody and earthy for my taste. I also find that the alcohol taste is emphasized too much. I'd pass on this one.

m keating 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

In all fairness I did not understand what Rhum Agricole is about. So to me this was not as sweet as I prefer and had too much burn with little aftertaste but alcohol.

Fanounou 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted over 5 years ago

Last night I opened the case of Barbancourt 5 star I had asked my niece to bring me from Haiti last Thanksgiving 2018. I poured a whole bottle in the bowl of Krémas I just made. Normally, 1 bottle should have been more than enough if not overkill for the amount of Krémas I made, but all I got was a thinner Krémas without the taste or smell of rhum. After a 2nd bottle resulted in more Krémas without the benefit of added alcohol, I poured it in a larger container and added a 3rd bottle with more or less the same result that it finally occurred to me that something is definitely wrong with the rhum.
I took an empty bottle to my nose and smelled nothing. I opened a 4th bottle and poured some in a glass. It was almost clear with a hint of amber, the beautiful aroma I’ve always loved was missing and it looked like I added a little rhum to a glass of water which is exactly what it tastes like. It’s really a shame that today I have to go buy some other good rhum in addition to more ingredients to bring the Krémas back to life! Very frustrating and a total waste of money!




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Barbancourt
Country: Haiti
Name: 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year
Years Aged: 8
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Chips Liquor
2. Total Wine
Loading...