Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.7/10
251 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
7
10
16
56
86
52
13
5

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

251 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Goldtyger 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Nice rum the bottle is exotic to serve in a party but if you are looking for the best move on

BerodeQuentin 🇫🇷 | 40 ratings
Posted almost 11 years ago

Color : Gold
Flavour : Praline, nutty edge, apricot & apple, sweet notes of cane & honey
Palate : Subtle, elegant, a well balanced rum

A great affordable rum, a must try!

Don Tucker 🇺🇸 | 193 ratings
Posted almost 11 years ago

This is a good sipping rum in a pinch. It pales in comparison to the 15 year, but it mature enough to sip.

Benito B. 🇱🇺 | 66 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

Unfortunately, the Barbancourt rums aged less then 15 years are not that good!
Maybe as mixers.

thorfin 🇫🇷 | 18 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

rapport qualité prix, a conseillé

Dan Freeman 🇺🇸 | 15 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Very decent rum, but not quite there with others in its price range.

Trini Yank 🇹🇹 | 41 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Definitely as dry as you'd expect from an agricole, but this isn't a good thing. Very light color, light taste. On the plus side, decently smooth and a nice vanilla finish. And it's eminently affordable.

Yablo Dratch 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

In a good way.

James Wall 🇬🇧 | 10 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Well balanced, golden in colour and perfect to sip

Chriskof 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted over 11 years ago

Stopped at a NH liquor store on my way back from vacation today and picked up what I thought would be a safe bet - 8 year old "reserve especiale" from Haiti that I was curious to try. Nice golden color, nice smell with subtle sweetness, first sip... sharp alcohol sting. Let it sit for 5 minutes... not much better. I've had cheaper rums which were a lot smoother. I will mix the Barbancourt with Coke.

Da'rum 🇩🇪 | 22 ratings
Posted almost 12 years ago

Than your pic but same rum. A lovely (as the website says) 'well balanced' rum. It is exactly that. I have read reviews that say it is not sweet but I find it sweet enough, the sweetness is well matched with the savoury flavours that are abundant. Super rum.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Barbancourt
Country: Haiti
Name: 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year
Years Aged: 8
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Chips Liquor
2. Total Wine
Loading...