Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.7/10
251 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
7
10
16
56
86
52
13
5

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

251 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Goldtyger 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Nice rum the bottle is exotic to serve in a party but if you are looking for the best move on

shelteredexistence 🇺🇸 | 49 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

I don't know about how it is where you live, but these agricoles are pricey where I am. Damn, those French have got it made. Well, Haitians actually in this case (a former French colony). Thus, I am inclined to judge this rum more harshly than I might otherwise, given four of my favorite rums are at this price-point locally.

Having been a cognac drinker, one can easily ascertain the link to the rhum agricole variant of rum production. Once you understand the (well-defined) production process, you know what flavors you're going to get. And you get them here. On those merits, one can see why this rum is so popular among agricole drinkers.

Still, to my taste, this agricole did not significantly stand apart from the 5 Year Clement I'd tasted previously (and at the same price-point) - a modest VSOP to the Clement's refined VS (to use cognac terms). A bit smoother, a bit more of those hearty cognac flavors, sure.

But once again, I prefer the molasses-based rums (exception: St Lucia's Chairman's Reserve, made of raw sugar cane but *not* the agricole process).

Brendan S 🇨🇦 | 55 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Great as a mix to broaden the flavour range with a English or Spanish style. Sweet sugar and then grass.

Leon 🇩🇪 | 34 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

I really like barbancourt's nose. It tells of much more years than 8. The taste is sweet at first, then highly fluctous grassy and finally deep tobacco and coffee. I really like this one. However it is a little bit too strong on the alcoholic odor.

Rob Bratney 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

A little light for an aged rum, but it makes up for it in flavor. Nice amount of spice and sweetness, and just a hint of that rhum agricole funk. Highly recommended, and used often for tiki mixing.

Margus Mägi 🇪🇪 | 86 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

It's like brandy with water and no good with coke.

NicoleH 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Light, citrus good on the rocks

John 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

This run had a light and clean taste with smokey overtones. Great for sipping on the rocks.

Dustin Doran 🇺🇸 | 78 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Full honey flavor, grass notes and a nice dryness. Light an floral with hints of tannins and wood. Try this in rum cocktails you wanna throw an "island" spin on.

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 147 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Not a great nose, but really pleasant taste. Not an overwhelming grassy taste common with some agricoles. Just the right amount of slight spice, short to medium finish with some leftover oil.

Case 🇬🇧 | 15 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Very affordable agricole (cane juice) rum. The 5-star is light, easy-drinking, unassuming, fairly dry, some oak. Really smooth and well-balanced. So easy to drink it's downright dangerous.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Barbancourt
Country: Haiti
Name: 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year
Years Aged: 8
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Chips Liquor
2. Total Wine
Loading...