Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.7/10
220 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
7
7
14
48
74
47
12
5

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

220 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

mankri 🇭🇺 | 33 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This agricole rum has a nice taste and a good character despite being young, only 8 years old.

thefatrumpirate 🇬🇧 | 121 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

A classic but somewhat different rhum. Do not dismiss this rum because you do not like agricole.

Has very little by way of vegetal/grassy notes. An excellent complex sipping rum.

R.Ennell 🇨🇦 | 26 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

You don't have to drown this one with fruit juices to make it palatable.
On par with the basic Appleton "Special Gold" as a mixer but definitely much harsher and lacking all the smoothness of the Appleton
For those who think that a burning throat means an alcohol is good and strong.

Drew Stephens 🇺🇸 | 19 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

If you need something to make good (but not great) cocktails, Barbancourt 5 star is a great choice. It's about like Mount Gay Extra Old—I don't choose it from my collection to drink neat, but as part of a cocktail it is perfectly good.

Tomazet 🇫🇷 | 16 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Bon rhum sans conteste, mais sans surprise non plus si ce n'est que pour un viel agricole je l'ai trouvé relativement ''doux''. A tester.

LD 🇮🇹 | 34 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This rum is undrinkable!
its smell is synthetic, like a solvent. Its taste is very strange: medicine, sour, a little iron, very tannic and you have the feeling that the mouth to fall asleep! Not recommended.

Norup 🇩🇰 | 60 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

ikke nogen stor rom, da smagen ikke er så nuanceret. Men den er dejlig. Frisk, med en snert af citrongræs!

delecluse 🇻🇺 | 6 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Kelleti rum.
Billoy verga succa appetae.
Sinodid nea tao kelleti.

Tito Jackson 🇺🇸 | 28 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Easy to sip. Nice introduction to those who may not have had an agricole.

shelteredexistence 🇺🇸 | 49 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

I don't know about how it is where you live, but these agricoles are pricey where I am. Damn, those French have got it made. Well, Haitians actually in this case (a former French colony). Thus, I am inclined to judge this rum more harshly than I might otherwise, given four of my favorite rums are at this price-point locally.

Having been a cognac drinker, one can easily ascertain the link to the rhum agricole variant of rum production. Once you understand the (well-defined) production process, you know what flavors you're going to get. And you get them here. On those merits, one can see why this rum is so popular among agricole drinkers.

Still, to my taste, this agricole did not significantly stand apart from the 5 Year Clement I'd tasted previously (and at the same price-point) - a modest VSOP to the Clement's refined VS (to use cognac terms). A bit smoother, a bit more of those hearty cognac flavors, sure.

But once again, I prefer the molasses-based rums (exception: St Lucia's Chairman's Reserve, made of raw sugar cane but *not* the agricole process).

Brendan S 🇨🇦 | 55 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Great as a mix to broaden the flavour range with a English or Spanish style. Sweet sugar and then grass.




Brand Details

Name: 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year
Company: Barbancourt
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading