Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.7/10
251 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
7
10
16
56
86
52
13
5

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

251 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Goldtyger 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Nice rum the bottle is exotic to serve in a party but if you are looking for the best move on

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Excellent on all fronts for sub $30. Bottled at 43% which makes it a great sipper. If I were to fault it I would say it's a bit generic and lacking a wow factor. But really it's far to good and enjoyable at it's price point to care about such a minor and petty thing.
It’s also an all around brown rum substitute. It can be perfectly used in any drink that calls out for brown rum.

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Vic's recipe, according to B. Berry, calls for 2 rums: an aged agricole and a dark Jamaican. (There is some confusion about whether Barbancourt is truly an agricole, but the label says "100% sugar cane rum" and that's close enough for my standards). There isn't enough character or complexity for this to be a top-notch, stand-alone sipper, but it deserves respect (and an 8) for making authentic Mai-Tais shine like the sun.

toblo 🇺🇸 | 25 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

a pesar de que no es el de 15 años, llena todas las expectativas de los conocedores roneros

Gary 🇨🇦 | 24 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

I found this has a distinct taste compared to D.R. Rums, must be something in the distillation or aging process. Still a fairly good drink when mixed, but not a lot of complex on its own.

Benz 🇩🇪 | 1 rating
Posted 4 months ago

This Rum was my absolute favourite for more than 12 years. 2024 I bought a bottle but the taste is completely disappointing, like the cheapest shitty stuff in a supermarket.
Sharp, all the fine aromes I know from before have gone. I‘m sure the destillation process has changed! Quality has gone to zero, price has gone up a lot!!!
If you find an older bottling, buy it, this was perfect.

henrik pedersen 🇩🇰 | 177 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Dette bliver nok aldrig en af mine favorit rum. Men har været fin at smage. jeg bruger den oftest til cocktail

DB 🇺🇸 | 77 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I really like this one, definitely more mature than the 4-year sibling. Has that same sweetness as the younger one, mild spice, very little alcohol burn, including on the nose. I detect very little of it being an "agricole" style rum. I don't detect except for the faintest hint of this on the nose. Light woodiness - perfect for me, though a bit more would be totally acceptable too. A bit of pleasant bitterness in the relatively short finish. Worthy of sipping in my book!

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 562 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

I got to try this as part of my Rum Ratings Club membership. I prefer their 15 year, which I'm not such a huge fan of either.

A relatively dry rum, which smells and tastes of oak and leather, with light floral notes. Nothing too exciting to me.

Wo1fpacker 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

One of the smoothest rums I've had the pleasure to taste. Nice and complex in flavor and balance and supremely approachable for rum novices. You'll get your money's worth either sipping neat or in a cocktail.

nickprice 🇳🇱 | 29 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Really nice rum. Not particulary floral despite its origin. Vanilla, caramel and woody to the taste. Easy to drink. Works neat but also great in a cocktail as an alternative to a full blown Agricole.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Barbancourt
Country: Haiti
Name: 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year
Years Aged: 8
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Chips Liquor
2. Total Wine
Loading...