Background Image
Preload image
Smith and Cross Traditional Jamaica Navy Strength rum

Smith and Cross Traditional Jamaica Navy Strength

DA
KE
had this rum recently

Jamaica | Aged | 57% ABV | Pot Still Distilled

7.6/10
366 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
6
9
15
26
62
143
79
22

Rate Smith and Cross Traditional Jamaica Navy Strength

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

366 Smith and Cross Traditional Jamaica Navy Strength Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 89 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

What an explosion of taste and smell. At first it tastes like a good single malt, but then you get the jet fuel and the burn. When your tastebuds finally recover you get spice, funk, ripe bananas and pineapple.

Sam 🇳🇱 | 14 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

There is no substitute for the funk you get in this rum, but it's a little too much for me.

Joe 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Hearty & Boozy, but there's a lot of depth and character. Some smoky, earthy, and almost peaty elements - lots of bitter orange rind/peel. I personally prefer something a bit softer and more rounded for an evening sipper but this was a welcome change. I can definitely see why this is being compared to a single malt scotch.

No name 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted over 6 years ago

Many of these reviews say it's indicative of a style, but that doesn't mean it tastes good. It's hard to find words for how bad this rum is, but the closest I can get is that someone left pineapple juice in the trunk of their car for a week or two until it fermented. I've tried to enjoy it in different ways: straight, on the rocks (with enough to water it down a lot), cocktails, but I haven't been able to finish any of the drinks. I have had better bottom shelf rum and wouldn't advise this for anyone. I'm giving 3 stars instead of 1 because it is a rum (not just sugary vodka) and the abv isn't apparent (although I think I'm just detracted by the foul taste)

Pierre 🇨🇦 | 86 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

57% alcohol but it doesn't smell like it. The taste is however disappointing for me. It is not sweet. The bitterness is too much even with Sprite. I wonder if it would ruin mixes.

John T 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is a truly amazing find. I bought it as a kind of personal dare. Find one of those high proof alcohols that only a masochist would pour down his throat. I got something completely different. I got to experience the fruity, estery aromas and flavors that come from dunder in the fermentation process. Dunder is where magical stuff happens in the rum world, but like sausage making, is something you just hear about but never look too closely into if you want to keep your lunch down. But that special blend of bacteria combines with alcohol and produces some utterly great fruit. Nothing else like it. Like a flavor bomb hitting your tongue. This is really potent stuff. If you guzzle moonshine like Jim Tom, you can certainly sip it neat, but no need to torture yourself. This will survive some ice or water, and will wonderfully add an enjoyable flavor kick to your favorite rum cocktail.

Matthias Lange 🇩🇪 | 29 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Very Jamaica in here. Good burn. Nice fruits. No Clouds man!

Border Rum Guy 🇺🇸 | 69 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Mixed with Diet Coke and enjoyed the drink immensely as it came across and a touch of sweetness with a vanilla-ish twinge rack this up as another keeper. Its just hard to find very few bars carry it I found this at the bar in the Emma Hotel in San Antonio.

Chris Garrahan 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Strong flavors, overwhelming neat, sooo much flavor and depth. I love my Pussers but this is much more sophisticated. Just made the "Million" cocktail on the label. Outstanding!

Tom 🇺🇸 | 230 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Strong rum to drink neat however, as mentioned below, if you add a splash of water to it it tones it down a notch. Traditional Jamaican pot stilled rum with notes of pepper, molasses, vanilla, brown sugar, citrus, toabacco and oak. Good mixer though for the price, their are plenty of comparable rums out their that are less expensive.

Jm 🇫🇷 | 33 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Un Rhum très polyvalent : très sec mais assez gras, superbe pur (mais assez violent, il faut le laisser aerer ) mais surtout indispensable pour booster n'importe quel cocktails ! En grog par exemple pour les longues soirée d'hiver il est génial !




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Smith and Cross
Country: Jamaica
Name: Traditional Jamaica Navy Strength
ABV: 57%
Raw Material: Molasses
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Pot Still
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews