loading

Background Image
Preload image
Smith and Cross Traditional Jamaica Navy Strength rum

Smith and Cross Traditional Jamaica Navy Strength

F.Sellera avatar image had this rum recently

Jamaica | Aged | 57% ABV | Pot Still Distilled

7.6/10
365 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
9
15
26
62
143
78
22

Rate Smith and Cross Traditional Jamaica Navy Strength

Tap to Rate

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

365 Smith and Cross Traditional Jamaica Navy Strength Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

If you know what you want and that thing is funk than it's hard to get funkier than Smith and Cross.

Like Laphroaig it's easily one of my favorites for its unabashed pungency. Shocking to the uninitiated and haunting to those who have sipped it straight.

Maybe not a 10 in the overall scheme of Rum balance and flavor but deserving of a 10 for what it does better than most and thats the dunder funk.

CK 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Was not expecting this aroma and flavor. The nose reminded me a lot of the very funky and fun Clairin Le Rocher Haitian agricole rum, because there is a lot going on in the nose, and on the tongue. And most of it is nearly un-explainable. There is definitely some leather and tobacco in the nose,and a weird funk I can only describe as kind of rubbery chemical thing. That weird smell is not overly strong but its there. The rum is not nearly as strong on the mouth and finish as the 57% indicates, and it allows the spices and fruits to come through, but mixed with the nose, its hard to really pinpoint much of the specific flavors. It packs a punch, its funky, its fun and I enjoyed it greatly. Now I just have to filter through it all and find out what those flavors are.

Shandyman 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Like a punch in the face. Cannot drink this sucker straight, but I keep trying.

nomad 🇺🇸 | 137 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

It's great at what it is meant for and that's in Tiki drinks. Straight? That'll take you a while.

edit- 2 years later? Well, damn if I didn't come all the way around on this one. Enjoyable with a bit of water, but I enjoy it most as an addition to fruit-based drinks.

Nordicrum 🇸🇪 | 22 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This is powerful stuff! The nose is an assalut on your senses, bringing in lots of molasses and brown sugar. I like to drink it neat, but I can see that it is especially made to worj in coktails, with its strong smell and taste leaning towards molasses and being low on oak. Not a well rounded drink, but strong and kicking!

Planertz 🇸🇪 | 8 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

I'm a rookie when it comes to rumtasting. I have tasted a fair share of single malt whisky. So this is my first review! This tastes and smells like how i imagined a piraty old school rum would taste and smell. Be careful when using in cocktails and drinks. Scale down the amount of rum or blend it whit a more tame kind of rum. But when you get the proportions right this truly shines and boosts up any cocktail.

Pelican8 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Im on a British Navy Rum kick.. Pusser’s Gunpowder and then Hamilton Navy Strengh.. I thought this was along those lines, but I now know those Navy rums have a good dose of Demerara. That said this is a keeper. A less sweet and more potent Plantation. Funk galore with rotting banana nose and some tobacco and dark chocolate tones. Drinking it with a splash of water. Making me want to explore more Jamaicans..

Lars Renbjer 🇸🇪 | 1 rating
Posted 6 months ago

This is the rum if you would like to start exploring jamaican rum. It's powerfull, full of flavour yeat fruity with sweet vanilla notes.

Kjetil Røste Ringen 🇳🇴 | 31 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

This absolutely have the funk the Jamaican rums are famous for. Strong taste and smell, fruity and of burnt sugar and caramel. While I have learned that I am really bad at distinguishing different fruits from each other in these kinds of drinks and rums, this definitely has a fruity aroma compared to most other rums I have tasted. I like it alot. The 57% makes it best on the rocks, which I enjoy.

Invertiguy 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

I finally found a bottle of this at a liquor store the next town over and all I can say is holy shit was it worth the hunt! This has got to be one of the most intense-tasting rums I've ever had and I love it! Bold and bursting with flavor, it's proofy and packed with overripe fruit funkiness like a good Jamaican pot still rum should be but with the addition of caramel and baking spice notes that really bring it to the next level. It's loud character makes it a little more challenging to incorporate in most cocktails than more softly-spoken spirits, but man is it worth it. This is the rum I thought Kraken was when I was still young and dumb enough to be drinking that shit, and while the decade between then and now hasn't exactly been all fun and games, I am forever grateful that it has granted me the maturity to appreciate real flavor. 9 stars.

irishsausage6 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Finally tried Smith & Cross and it did not disappoint! I was sipping this neat alongside some Lime La Croix, and well, I think I found an incredible combination. The rum is strong in all the good ways and bursts with flavors of super ripe tropical fruits along with that beautiful hogo quality. Chase it with some lime flavored la croix and the result is delicious. This is going to be great in tropical drinks, but I'll happily sip on this one too.




Brand Details

Company: Smith and Cross
Type: Aged
Raw Material: Molasses
Brand Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation Type: Pot Still
Name: Traditional Jamaica Navy Strength
ABV: 57%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading