Posting your rating...
Smith and Cross Navy Strength rum

Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Jamaica | Gold

7.5/10
262 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
6
13
21
46
104
49
15

Rate Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

262 Smith and Cross Navy Strength ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

This is powerful stuff! The nose is an assalut on your senses, bringing in lots of molasses and brown sugar. I like to drink it neat, but I can see that it is especially made to worj in coktails, with its strong smell and taste leaning towards molasses and being low on oak. Not a well rounded drink, but strong and kicking!

Ffffff

Posted 15 days ago by WhatZitTooya from United States with 14 ratings

I'll be honest, I completely missed the proof when I first bought this, so needless to say, trying a sip of it straight was like getting run over by a fruit truck. It's great in drinks, but sometimes it can be a bit overpowering for people not expecting it—made some Bali Hais for the family and did a 50/50 with S&C and Appleton Signature instead of straight up, and it turned out great.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Borisz Duliskovich from Hungary with 6 ratings

I was not prepared for this....so good!
I've heard a lot about this rum and many have recommended it. Now understand why.

Overripe fruits and very long finish. I can still taste it as I write this down and 10 minutes have passed. Yes it's a bit strong neat but you always can add a little cold water to pull down the proof a little. Of course it's perfect for mixing. Totally recommend it!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Bas from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Nearly gave me a heart attack on the first sip. Lol. Not really a sipping rum, but still great flavour. If you give it time after your sip its actually really good. Its sweet and spicy. Its like getting punched in the face and after you get back to your senses, the world is alright again.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by wayoutwest from United Kingdom with 37 ratings

I'm really surprised people have said this isn't a sipper. This is much less harsh than El Dorado 8 for example.

Yes, the banana funk is there in force, along with a woody dryness. There's a bit of burn, but there's a richness and depth there too. It makes me smile!
Perhaps it's that bit of time in the barrel, but whereas Rum Fire, I consider only a mixer, this I can sip too. It feels like the distillation of all that is Jamaican rum.

Yes, Hampden 8 is classier, but this laughs at the pretentions of more serious runs (La Hechicera and R L Seale, I'm looking at you!) and runs away whooping with delight.

Right now, it's a 7. After half a bottle, this could easily be an 8! Bravo!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Openwheel11 from United States with 2 ratings

Great Funk without going overboard. If you are looking for a mainstream expression of the Funk, this is it. Tons of flavors, but the spirit makes you work to tease them out as you work through the bottle. A sipping rum with a splash of soda to cut down the alcohol burn, or make a classic cocktail. Truly a great value.

Small 54414504

Posted 6 months ago by Sidbabai from Italy with 9 ratings

It's a kick in the ass, but, if your mouth is ready (I mean, with no tastes in your tongue), and you let the time to your brain to understand what's happening, I think you can really enjoy it. It's not exactly my kind but I can't deny how good it is.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by apgroner from Denmark with 4 ratings

As others have said, this rum punches you in the gut and throws rotten bananas in your face - and delivers the most complex and wonderful result to a grown up experienced enough to appreciate it. It turns a shaken piña colada into a banana flavored cocktail and paired with a high-end agricole, it delivers an elevated Mai Tai.

As for enjoying it on its own, I’m going to accept my limitations as a lover and admit that I need something a little less batship crazy.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by TitoBandito from United States with 2 ratings

I’m new to this whole rum world, and I’m happy to have found this bottle in the beginning of my journey. I love high proof bourbons and honestly love this rum just as much.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by mathiassen from Greenland with 3 ratings

Without being fully on par in regards to complexity with the far more expensive Jamaicans on the market, this bottle provides a great tasting experience within it's genre. Definitely worth a spot in your collection (and a refurbishment of your stock won't kill your budget once it is empty. Again.).

Small 621e696e 569f 4f12 a55a b39bbb717650

Posted 10 months ago by geroji from United States with 26 ratings

Couldn’t have asked for more in a jamaican rum. Old bananas and tropical fruit, which come alive after letting it breath for a fee minutes and cube of ice.