Smith and Cross Navy Strength rum

Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Jamaica | Gold

7.5/10
291 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
6
15
24
51
114
58
15

Rate Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

291 Smith and Cross Navy Strength ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 7 months ago by Cowboy Neal 🇺🇸 | 31 ratings

Good example of Jamaican funk, just know what you're in for

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad 🇺🇸 | 134 ratings

It's great at what it is meant for and that's in Tiki drinks. Straight? That'll take you a while.

edit- 2 years later? Well, damn if I didn't come all the way around on this one. Enjoyable with a bit of water, but I enjoy it most as an addition to fruit-based drinks.

Posted 4 days ago by marekfiser 🇨🇿 | 95 ratings

Full of flavor (overriped fruits, rotting grass, molasses and who knows what else), fantastic nose, high voltage yet manages to be smooth and generally easily sippable.
Ain't probably a rookie anymore as I easily sipped 1/5 of the bottle "na posezení" on the first occasion. Perfect material, I have no complaints whatsoever and I consider it to be too good / waste for being just a mixer. The sweet and pleasant nose is above and beyond and the taste is just addictive as fuck.

Posted 22 days ago by Michal Ernest 🇨🇿 | 124 ratings

Dostal jsem vzoreček od kamaráda.
Už ve vůni pro mne typická Jamajka, vůně zatuchlé trávy tam prostě je. Není naštěstí taková ta čpavková, ale taková jakási uhlazenější. Docela dobře se i přes tu chuť zatuchlé trávy pije.
Kdo má rád Jamajku mohu doporučit, za tu cenu je prostě skvělá.

Posted 24 days ago by bjburris 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings

Overproof with great flavor. This is my preferred Jamaican for building cocktails.

Posted 2 months ago by JarkkoKoo (PREMIUM) 🇫🇮 | 11 ratings

On it's own this tastes too strong for me. I like the funky (almost rotten) banana flavors, but only in cocktails with fruit juices. Nice color, nice smell.

Posted 3 months ago by Triton Ogletree 🇺🇸 | 103 ratings

It's fairly dry and it smells and tastes pretty decent. It does have a fairly medicinal flavor to it, which I'm not a fan of and it's nothing too spectacular but it's definitely a decent rum (not too harsh,) and considering it's Navy Proof (114 proof to be exact,) it's an impressive product to say the least. Technically, at that proof, it should probably taste like lighter fluid but it definitely doesn't! I'd probably say it's worth the money if you want a rum with some umph to it. While it may not be worth buying a whole bottle for the average rum drinker, I can safely say that it's worth trying if you have the opportunity to do so.

Posted 4 months ago by bpCLT 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings

SC is one of those rums I have to be in the right mindset for. The first sip resets my palate every time.

The nose is straight heat for me. Even after sitting for a bit. But once I take a sip the heat clears. It gives way to pineapple banana spice plus a hint of caramel and butterscotch. Then a long hot finish.

An ice cube or two opens this thing up and makes it even more sipable. Once opened up this thing is straight beautiful Jamaican funk. Absolutely delicious. I’m almost exclusively a sipper but imagine this would mix nice in a cocktail. Will always have one of these on my shelf especially at the sub $30 price.

Posted 4 months ago by Jesse Mora 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings

This reminds me of shipwreck taste wise but smells of a rotting banana which is sobering ironically because it's so odorful. For the strength not terrible, it has burn though, almost every time I take a sip I cough. However with that in mind, it is a full bodied rum, would recommend if strong smells aren't a deal breaker. Overall interesting rum.

Posted 8 months ago by WhatZitTooya 🇺🇸 | 17 ratings

I'll be honest, I completely missed the proof when I first bought this, so needless to say, trying a sip of it straight was like getting run over by a fruit truck. It's great in drinks, but sometimes it can be a bit overpowering for people not expecting it—made some Bali Hais for the family and did a 50/50 with S&C and Appleton Signature instead of straight up, and it turned out great.

Posted 11 months ago by Borisz Duliskovich 🇭🇺 | 7 ratings

I was not prepared for this....so good!
I've heard a lot about this rum and many have recommended it. Now understand why.

Overripe fruits and very long finish. I can still taste it as I write this down and 10 minutes have passed. Yes it's a bit strong neat but you always can add a little cold water to pull down the proof a little. Of course it's perfect for mixing. Totally recommend it!




Brand Details

Name: Navy Strength
Company: Smith and Cross
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2923
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514