Smith and Cross Navy Strength rum

Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Jamaica | Gold

7.5/10
300 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
7
15
24
51
120
60
15

Rate Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

300 Smith and Cross Navy Strength ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Eidolon (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 51 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Lots of funk on the nose and palate. Really hot rum, with taste of funk and banana, and a long finish.

Russ 🇺🇸 | 85 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I don't like overproof rum. I just don't get it. But, I have to say this rum offered more than just a hot burn and a fuel like after taste. This one is for a pina colada or something of that nature. I tried it in Coke and could not taste one hint of the soda except the bubbles! But with better than 151 or White overproof. There's actually a hint of a rum taste there, after the burning stops!

tim 🇺🇸 | 57 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Molasses and pineapple notes with buttery finish with hint of pineapple

Thomas Engelmann 🇳🇴 | 1 rating
Posted over 6 years ago

A bit too strong to sip neat, but absolutely fantastic in cocktails as the supporting actor (rum number 2). Try a classic Mai-Tai with Appleton 12 and top with Smith&Cross - I've never been to Jamaica, but I imagine this is what it tastes like!

Ramon 🇺🇸 | 76 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I stumbled across this rum at a local seafood restaurant. It was not bad but not real special to my taste buds either. Not real strong on flavor, slight citrusy taste and maybe a bit oaky in the finish. I expected more from the way the bar tender talked it up.

2.ooohhh 🇺🇸 | 42 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I find this stuff rather unpalatable by itself, but blend it in a tiki drink such as the "Beachcomber's Gold" and it brings the cocktail to life. (I've included my recipe below)

1oz Bacardi 8
1/4oz Appleton 12yr
1/4oz Smith & Cross
1/2oz simple syrup
6 drops St. George Absinthe Verte
4 drops almond extract
1/4 cup crushed Ice

Blend on high for no more than 5 seconds and strain into a chilled glass.(garnish to your liking)

Mr.B 🇬🇧 | 70 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Highly aromatic, high esters pot still Jamaican rum. The smells and flavour are so funky and different what I have been used to. First Jamaican style tum so not sure if it is the norm. Bottled at navy strength so look forward in some cocktails as should hold up those distinct flavours.

Christophe 🇫🇷 | 10 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Although strong (57°) this rum is perfectly balanced beetween orange peels and cinnamon with a great woody finish... Sip neat or on ice... Not for children though :-)

Severin 🇫🇷 | 11 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Rhum qui ne plaira pas à tout le monde. Un nez génial, tres original. En bouche c'est plus décevant, manque de finesse, mais pas inintéressant. Pour moins de 40€ ça vaut tout de même le coup

Jack Panic 🇨🇦 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Very sharp with a high proof to boot. Unfortunately the initial palate shock does nothing for the remainder of the drink. Sugar cane to start and nothing to finish. I was really hoping for more, best avoided.

Hedonist 🇩🇪 | 59 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

I don't like it as a sipper, but this rum is probably able to give any Mix its stamp. Even if one would mix with motor oil, you could still taste this rum out of a cocktail that would kill you.




Brand Details

Name: Navy Strength
Company: Smith and Cross
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading