Smith and Cross Navy Strength rum

Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Jamaica | Gold

7.5/10
291 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
6
15
24
51
114
58
15

Rate Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

291 Smith and Cross Navy Strength ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 7 months ago by Cowboy Neal 🇺🇸 | 31 ratings

Good example of Jamaican funk, just know what you're in for

Posted 6 years ago by YMHC 🇳🇱 | 162 ratings

Fles : 70cl met kurk
Kleur: licht bruin
Land: Jamaica
Abv: 57%

Deze rum is gedistilleerd op het Hampden Estate in Jamaica. Het is een blend van 6 maanden oude Wedderburn rum en 1,5 tot 3 jaar oude Plummer rum. Resultaat is een hele zware pot still rum met een compleze aroma.

Met deze kun je fantastische Daiquiri cocktails maken.

Posted 6 years ago by Russ 🇺🇸 | 85 ratings

I don't like overproof rum. I just don't get it. But, I have to say this rum offered more than just a hot burn and a fuel like after taste. This one is for a pina colada or something of that nature. I tried it in Coke and could not taste one hint of the soda except the bubbles! But with better than 151 or White overproof. There's actually a hint of a rum taste there, after the burning stops!

Posted 6 years ago by tim 🇺🇸 | 57 ratings

Molasses and pineapple notes with buttery finish with hint of pineapple

Posted 6 years ago by Thomas Engelmann 🇳🇴 | 1 rating

A bit too strong to sip neat, but absolutely fantastic in cocktails as the supporting actor (rum number 2). Try a classic Mai-Tai with Appleton 12 and top with Smith&Cross - I've never been to Jamaica, but I imagine this is what it tastes like!

Posted 6 years ago by Ramon 🇺🇸 | 76 ratings

I stumbled across this rum at a local seafood restaurant. It was not bad but not real special to my taste buds either. Not real strong on flavor, slight citrusy taste and maybe a bit oaky in the finish. I expected more from the way the bar tender talked it up.

Posted over 6 years ago by 2.ooohhh 🇺🇸 | 42 ratings

I find this stuff rather unpalatable by itself, but blend it in a tiki drink such as the "Beachcomber's Gold" and it brings the cocktail to life. (I've included my recipe below)

1oz Bacardi 8
1/4oz Appleton 12yr
1/4oz Smith & Cross
1/2oz simple syrup
6 drops St. George Absinthe Verte
4 drops almond extract
1/4 cup crushed Ice

Blend on high for no more than 5 seconds and strain into a chilled glass.(garnish to your liking)

Posted over 6 years ago by Mr.B 🇬🇧 | 70 ratings

Highly aromatic, high esters pot still Jamaican rum. The smells and flavour are so funky and different what I have been used to. First Jamaican style tum so not sure if it is the norm. Bottled at navy strength so look forward in some cocktails as should hold up those distinct flavours.

Posted over 6 years ago by Christophe 🇫🇷 | 10 ratings

Although strong (57°) this rum is perfectly balanced beetween orange peels and cinnamon with a great woody finish... Sip neat or on ice... Not for children though :-)

Posted over 6 years ago by Severin 🇫🇷 | 11 ratings

Rhum qui ne plaira pas à tout le monde. Un nez génial, tres original. En bouche c'est plus décevant, manque de finesse, mais pas inintéressant. Pour moins de 40€ ça vaut tout de même le coup

Posted almost 7 years ago by Jack Panic 🇨🇦 | 4 ratings

Very sharp with a high proof to boot. Unfortunately the initial palate shock does nothing for the remainder of the drink. Sugar cane to start and nothing to finish. I was really hoping for more, best avoided.




Brand Details

Name: Navy Strength
Company: Smith and Cross
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2919
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514