Posting your rating...
Barbancourt Reserve du Domaine 15-Year rum

Barbancourt Reserve du Domaine 15-Year

Haiti | Aged

7.5/10
102 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
1
8
35
37
12
6

Rate Barbancourt Reserve du Domaine 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

102 Barbancourt Reserve du Domaine 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Luis from United States with 14 ratings

A lot of alcohol on the nose and in the immediate flavor. This comes with its corresponding dose of burn, which you do not find in 15-year rums very often.
It is after the harshness of the initial burn and alcohol flavor is gone that you begin to notice other flavor(s).
The basic (secondary) flavors are nut, wood, and leather, all in a dry version. It is best drunk straight or on the rocks. Some mineral water can be added to make it less harsh.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Frank Taylor from United States with 5 ratings

Without paying over $100 a bottle, this is always consistent with a fabulous flavor, smoothness, nose, etc, Well balanced. I have owned easily over 150 rums and this always comes out on top.

Small chalino sanchez pistola

Posted 11 months ago by choligo from United States with 6 ratings

Haiti agricole that is quite complex and will leave even the most experienced scratching their head.
Aroma - honey, tea, vanilla, caramel, almond, and oak
Palate - tea, nuts, sugarcane, cinnamon, and definitely finishes with espresso and oak.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Catmandu from United States with 15 ratings

I had read a number a very good ratings on this rum. I cannot agree on any level. It is harsh, with a metal after taste and finish. Too many great rums out there, this one is a miss.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Corey.andreas from Australia with 2 ratings

I used to get this rum every birthday, but it's not available in Australia anymore. Brilliant rum to sip and watch the cricket to. Definitely prefer it as a summer rum, but it soft caramel with light vegetal and lime zest notes is perfect on a warm day. Pairs extremely well with Old Gold Rum'n'Raisin

Small rivers

Posted 2 years ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 28 ratings

A decently aged rum, though not overly complex (considering it's 15 years old). The nose has got caramelized fruits, fudge and a nice round spiciness to it, but also a slightly metallic note. Taste is equally fruity and a bit dusty with some cardboard; finish could have been a little less dry. It's a decent rum, but the €50 retail price is a bit steep for the experience you're getting.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 228 ratings

A nice taste of Haiti, albeit, a pricy one at that. This rum will set you back about $50 US, however, it provides a nice representation of a fine French Agricole rhum. Complexity, smoothness and earthy characteristics usually associated with agricole rhum, due to being distilled from pressed/squeezed fresh cane juice, play out favorably with this rhum.
Very nice sipper that should be avoided as used for mixing with the high price tag associated with it. Definitely the best of the Barbancort line!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 49 ratings

A lot of people seem to not really like agricoles, and I can sort of understand why- they’re much lighter and a lot more floral. This has all of that, but a lot of interest and deliciousness, presumably because of the ageing. Would absolutely recommend.

Perfection.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 3 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 259 ratings

My expectations were very low for this one, Rock Stars Rhum, “Jack Daniels” Rhum with a screw cork.
But I must say it’s surprisingly good and really earns its place on my Agricole shelf in my rumbar.
Picture: My bottle of Barbancourt together with some Rhum from Marie Galante.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

The wood has taken over a bit in this one compared to the outstanding 8 yr (5 star). I have seen Barbancourt Rhums referred to as "The Cognac of rum" and nowhere is this more evident than in the 15 yr.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by CH from Canada with 5 ratings

Hazelnut, leather, and rose aromas that carry through on the palate. Finishes dry and leathery. French oak influence is quite assertive and even reminiscent of cognac. This is nice stuff.