Posting your rating...
Borgoe Reserve Collection 12-Year rum

Borgoe Reserve Collection 12-Year

Suriname | Aged

6.4/10
28 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
11
10
4

Rate Borgoe Reserve Collection 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

28 Borgoe Reserve Collection 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 6 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 496 ratings

I got to try this rum as part of the Rum Ratings Club tastings, and found it to be a fairly good rum.

Smells and tastes of citrus, pepper, leather, and oak. Not outstanding (to my taste), but certainly not bad.

Posted 1 year ago by hugorollo (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 9 ratings

I just got a 2cl sample of this Suriname rum, so it is hard to do a complex review.

The color is nice and dark.
Nose is ok, with aromas of oak and orange peel.
In the first two sips the taste was quite good with a lot of oak and some caramel and pepper. But in the third and fourth sip I almost couldn’t taste anything.
Aftertaste is oaky and peppery.

All in all I believe this to be an ok rum but it doesn’t really stand out.

Posted 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 290 ratings

Had just a sample for this tasting so this is just a first impression, but I will not try to get me a bottle for further tasting.
This rum is produced by Suriname Alcoholic Beverages established in 1966 but is linked to Marienburg which was founded already 1882 as a sugar company.
In addition to Borgoe, they also produce Marienburg, where the world's strongest rum is found, 90% strong, but it can only be bought in Suriname. If you don’t want to go there, you have to settle for the 81% export version.
They use a three column still and a pot still for the production, but after tasting this rum I would say that they just used the column still for this rum or at least mainly.
After distillation it’s aged for 12 years in oak barrels.
The nose is quite weak. It went a little better in mouth and palate, but the weakness is then back again during the finish which is quite short.
I think toffee dominates, but I recognize also vanilla, some oak and caramel.
Overall I think it’s too bland.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 149 ratings

I have previously had some good experiences with Suriname and their rums and having tried the 8-year from Borgoe, then it was only natural to "upgrade" to the 12-year.

Nose: Oak, Caramel, Orange Peel
Taste: Oak, Caramel, Orange Peel, Pepper and a slight leathery aftertaste
Overall: This is not a complex rum in any sense of the word, but it doesn´t need to be. It would be great as a sipper after a long day at work and is a slight improvement over the 8-year from the same company.

Posted 2 years ago by Rene Rum (PREMIUM) from Switzerland with 467 ratings

Schönes sattes Mahagoni im Glas.
In der Nase recht "jung", frische Düfte von tropischen Früchten und frisch gerösteten Gewürzen, Vanille und Blumen liegen als Dekoration auf einer Karamellcreme. Ganz weit weg sind dezente Holztöne zu vernehmen.
Im Gaumen ehrlich, direkt und doch ausgewogen. Helles Karamell und frische Früchte wollen die Geschmeidigsten sein, Schokolade, Nelken, Kardamom und weisser Pfeffer eifern nach, die Holznuancen bleiben weit zurück.
Im Abgang ein Karamellbonbon mit Pfefferfüllung und der Pfeffer hallt lange nach und eine Meeresbriese bleibt auf den Lippen zurück.
Ein toller Rum für Einsteiger und Geniesser. 7+

Nice rich mahogany in the glass.
In the nose quite "young", fresh scents of tropical fruits and freshly roasted spices, vanilla and flowers lie as decoration on a caramel cream. Quite far away, discreet wood tones can be heard.
On the palate honest, direct and yet balanced. Light caramel and fresh fruit want to be the smoothest, chocolate, cloves, cardamom and white pepper emulate, the wood nuances remain far behind.
In the finish a caramel candy with pepper filling and the pepper echoes for a long time and a sea breeze remains on the lips.
A great rum for beginners and connoisseurs. 7+

Posted 1 month ago by Wahlman from Sweden with 46 ratings

En ganska mild rom som smakar lite pepprigt mixat med läder. Helt ok.

Posted 1 month ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 20 ratings

Rävig. Whiskey. Bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla

Posted 2 months ago by Jason from United States with 102 ratings

Very nice caramel color. Vanilla, caramel, and citrus on the nose. Toffee, caramel, pepper for the taste. Peppery aftertaste. Not bad at all. Solid pairing with a nice cigar.

Posted 3 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 161 ratings

Good rum for sipping; smooth, syrupy, and sweet. Reminds me of Pilar dark or Flor de Cana 25, but not as good haha.

Posted 3 months ago by dhelliwell@comcast.net (PREMIUM) from United States with 30 ratings

Everything about it was just alright. Nothing special but not offensive. At least it was a bit darker than several of the other samples in this quarters shipment.